Newbie problem - 5:25 stopped working.

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Moph

Reaction score
Hey all!

Okay, so, I'm pretty new to the whole amplification side of electric guitar playing, so excuse me please if this sounds completely clueless. I bought this 5:25 Express amp a few weeks ago. It's bloody lovely, it's so good I just end up strumming the same few chords over and over for hours just to hear the tone from the amp, and never seem to get to actually doing my 'homework'. :lol:

The guy in the shop warned me about moving the amp for 20-30 minutes after turning it off to allow the tubes to cool down, so I've been very careful with this. He also said that generally the tubes won't need to be replaced for about a year. He said I'll know when it needs doing as they'll start to scream and sound 'off'.

A few days ago I moved the amp from the floor (after it being off for a day), up onto a table, and have used it fine a few times. Last night, I turned it off with standby, then the power etc., and went to bed. Turning it on now, and nothing, not even a little bit of screaming to indicate the tubes dying. A bit of white noise from the speaker, more audible when switched to 25 watt to test, I have only run the amp in the 5 watt setting so far, and pretty much always through the clean channel. Checked the back of the amp, and one of the tubes wasn't glowing orange as it usually does, so I'm assuming this is the problem despite having no audible warning from it.

Any ideas? Are the tubes even needed to get any output from the clean channel on the amp? Should I generally expect to have to put in fresh tubes after buying the amp from new in a music shop? I've sent them an email already explaining the problem - hopefully they will be able to offer a solution, but just wanted to check-in with you veterans here too for any advice.