Express 5:25 Bias Mod

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wagdog

Reaction score
Greetings all,

I've been using my Express 5:25 for just over 10 years. It was a floor model at guitar center when I bought it (they were blowing them out), so after a few months of use, I ordered new MESA brand power tubes from Sweetwater. The first set redplated fairly quickly, and Sweetwater replaced them. I also built a bias probe for EL84s to see what was going on.

What I found was there was close to 400v on the plates, and the coolest of the two tubes was idling at 28ma, dissipating 11.2w - yikes. The other tube was was idling at 35ma. Not a well matched set in my opinion, and certainly running too hot, which explains the redplating. After contacting MESA, they assured me their tubes were meant to run in their amps at those levels, and to make things right, they sent me 4 sets of matched tubes, which I appreciated. I found the tubes they sent also had poor matching, and ran very hot. I ended up contacting Eurotubes, who sent me their coldest JJEL84s. Those were running just above the 70% mark (20ma?).

Anyway, my amp is now way out of warranty, and I've finally got time to add a bias pot to it. Here's what I've come up with:
1691550400305.png

This replaces the original bias circuit currently in the amp. The R1 and R2 replace R54/R55 from the original circuit.

I'll be pulling R54 and R55, which equate to an 8.9k (approx) resistor. Together with R93, those two resistors form a voltage divider, providing approximately -12v to the grids of the EL84s. As that voltage goes more negative, less current passes through the tube at idle, and as that voltages gets close to 0, more current passes through the tube.