Dual Rec Tech - How to reduce power by removing tubes

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jong

Reaction score
I'm reposting this from another thread since it seems to be a (understandably) popular configuration, with limited information available outside of calling Mesa.

I've heard of some players removing 2 of the power tubes in recto heads to achieve a 50 watt solution.

It is true and it works! I've been running mine (Tremoverb) with two EL34's for about 5 years now. It is very simple. Here is what you need to do.

Remove two power tubes in pairs, either the two outter or two inner pair. I removed the two inner since I figured it would space out the other remaining tubes and maybe offer better heat dissipation. Also remove one Rectifier tube. It doesn't matter which one. I left the one closest to the power tubes.

There is one other consideration - your speaker jack impedences double. So you basically have one 32 ohm, two 16 ohm, and two 8 ohm jacks now. I applied some masking tape above the jacks and relabled mine to reflect the new values.

This effectively reduces your output to 50 watts +or-. It is still a loud amp - this isn't a 50% reduction in volume. Your bold/spongy and vintage/modern settings will reduce wattage more, and I believe if i remember correctly, that you can actually get it down to about 20 watts or so, depending on switch position.

If you have any questions, I'll be happy to help.

New-Rig-back-006-tube-clos.jpg

Uhh, you half the speaker impendence jacks instead of doubleing them. You won't hurt the amp if you do this because the output transformer won't be seeing any extra stress. You'll just work your power tubes harder.

If you have an 8 ohm cab, you run it from your 4 ohm out on the amplifier.

If you have a 16 ohm cab, you run it from your 8 ohm out on the amplifier.

Dale

Dale B. said: