Mark III MYSTERY MODS - What could they be...... Help!

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gepetto33

Reaction score
I have a Mesa Mark III Black Dot here, and upon opening it up to do some preamp tweaks i noticed..... mysteries! :shock:

Nothing too crazy really, but in addition to already being aware of the bias pot added (before i purchased the amp) - i saw something quite different in the power section. Let's just say it doesn't match the schematic -

While being decently proficient at soldering, i can say that i am no expert technician. I'm doing some of the cap mods listed on here for taming some of the fizzy-ness in the preamp section (C27, C30, C516, etc)... but i'm not well versed with the operation of power sections (other than how to drain caps, etc). For the sake of gathering data and learning more, i decided to post this on here and see what some the Boogie Board experts had to say.

From what i've been able to dig up this amp looks like it's been converted over to Pentode operation, seeing as no pins are wired together like the triode designs are. Would somebody be able to confirm this for me...? I just wanted to make sure it's done right and the values look healthy, even if the soldering job doesn't quite....

Notice how two of the leads from the transformer have been "taped up" (look where the zip ties and heat shrink tubing are). In regular Mark III's i noticed that each of these leads would be wired straight to pin 3 of each tube. Instead, it seems that only one of the green and one of the orange are used, while the other one is wrapped/taped up..... with the pins instead being jumper'ed across to it's neighboring power tube. Does this look right? Like does it match what say a Green Stripe pentode setup would be?