Low gain lead 2 modes on triaxis

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Thumas

Reaction score
Hi!

Just bought a triaxis/2:90 but have little trouble with the triaxis.
this is a 2.0 non phat and Lead 1 Red sound great and the clean modes sound like
it should,
i guess the other lead 1 sound ok too.

The problem is on all three lead 2 modes there is too little gain, when i
raise lead 2 drive it works in beginning and i think after 4.0 i can't here any
difference
i think the modes sound kinda bassy also, but it's little hard to know now when
i'm new to the rig.
I have tried to switch between tubes, but that doesn't matter.

anyone heard of this problem?

V2 is the input for the Lead2 modes, V4 is the actual *drive* tube for Lead2.
I suggest you swap V3 for a 12AT7 (in order not to overload the IC(3) that drives the Dynamic Voice circuitry) and V4 for a tested/selected 12AX7/ECC83 (I personally prefer a Mullard Reissue 12AX7 in this spot)....
Do a search in the threads in here to find lots of recommendations/preferences

i tried again switch places and even tried with others tubes i had here, and nothing happends.
any other ideas?

Lead 2 Red

G 9
T 8
M 4
B 2
Ld1 drive 0
Ld2 drive 6.5 or higher doesn't matter
M 4
P 3
Dv 3.5

^ that sounds like a pretty common Ld2 settings....

I guess that one of the resistors on V4s socket is dead...
Where are you from Thumas??

I'm from sweden.

ok i guess i need to send it to repair. if i ever will get an answer i will post it here.

I´d phone Luthmann (should be the Mesa Distributor for Sweden) directly and ask their service/repair section for guidance.
Distributor
Luthman Scandinavia
Box 535 S-136 25
Haninge
Tel +46 8 55 50 20 00
Fax +46 8 55 50 20 99
Email: [email protected]

If that doesn´t work out send a mail to [email protected], they normally respond within 24hrs...

Thank you for your help.