Got my Mark IV! A few questions.

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scottyyy

Reaction score
Hey guys. I went today from the post office to pick up my Mark IV. I bought it from WretchedESP86 on this forum and it looks like it's in good condition. Haven't turned it on yet as I have a few questions. You'll have to excuse me for asking such stupid questions, I'm still quite new to these large amps. Firstly about the power cable. It's a 1994 B version I believe, and from what I've read the IVb's come with a detachable power cable? It seems like mine is attached however:

http://i32.tinypic.com/315ol1h.jpg

Also, what is the power socket for in the top left, seeing as the power cable is coming from underneath? Secondly, the amp came with a fan:

http://i25.tinypic.com/2i6kyea.jpg

However, I don't know what to do with it. :oops:
Where does it plug in to get power, and where should I put it?

And finally, how do I find the serial numbers on Mark IVs?
edit: nevermind, found the serial I think - the sticker under the ground switch says IV-006441

Can't wait to turn it on and try it out - but I want to get these few niggles sorted first.

That is a "B" version short head. The "A" version had the detachable power cable. The plug above it is a through power for plugging other gear into and is not needed for normal operation. I have the medium head so mine may be different as far as fan placement but my fan is under the tubes and centered between the preamp and power tubes. That does not look like the factory fan. I wonder if your amp was born a combo and somebody converted it to a head.