Pulling out tubes from a 2:90 to reduce the power

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

margoulin

Reaction score
Hello,

First, let me introduce myself. My name is Marc Fascia and I am a french guitarist living in Lyon. I have been using some MesaBoogie gear from more than 10 years , along with a Marshall cabinet (Mesa cabs are so expensive here !) and some Ibanez guitars.

I red several posts where people mention the possibility to pull out some amp's tubes for reducing the power and I would like to test this on my 2:90 which is a great great amp but too powerful for my personal day-to-day usage.

I have the 'old' 2:90 with the blue led. It's tubed right now with 8 Sovtek 6L6.

The info I found is that I can remove the 4 outer tubes without harm. Is that right ?

Do you guys know some other option to reduce the amp power so I could use it at home without blowing my ears and the neighbours ones up :) ?

Thank you !

-Marc

My understanding is that pulling tubes out of any tube amp to decrease its wattage is not really recommended. I'd talk to someone at Mesa and ask if this is a good idea. I'd bet $1.00 that they say no.

I just phoned the MesaBoogie customer service and they told me that pulling out tubes was not possible because of the way SimulClass works. My english is not perfect (and my electronics skill is lot worse) so maybe I got the explanation slightly wrong ...

The operator who spoke to me advised me to buy an attenuator like a THD HotPlate or similar.

So metalgarth, I owe you 1$ ! :))

thank you for your answer.

yes, the 2:90 is a monster.
There is another way to reduce power beside the THD hotplate and it calls Yellow Jackets http://www.thdelectronics.com/products/yellow_jacket.htm its from THD as well.
Its cheper then the hot plate.