Mark V FX Loop Question

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lhrocker

Reaction score
According to the manual, the FX loop on the Mark V is serial, but when I hit the FX button on the footswitch with no FX connected, I still hear some signal (maybe 5%). It's low, but it's there. Is this normal? Will you have the same comb filter effect using multi-FX with the loop as you have with parallel loops?

It's annoying, but normal.
As much as I studied the schematics, I can't figure out how it gets through. It's not a fixed percentage, but rather a fixed level, It seems to be completely independent of the per-channel master settings. It seems to depend only on how much gain is set in that channel, and ch1 doesn't seem to do it at all. So the higher you set the per-channel masters, the better it gets drowned out.

I suspect that it is at least partially responsible for why some effects are reported to sound bad in the FX loop.

Some time maybe I'll get around to calling Mesa.

If I recall, the manual says that even if there is nothing attached, the act of flipping on the FX triggers a bunch of additional circuitry and that the tone will definitely be effected.

Flipping on the FX also activates the FX Mix knob, Mute circuit, Output, and Solo Knobs. If you have any of the knobs completely turned off, you won't hear anything.

lhrocker said:
According to the manual, the FX loop on the Mark V is serial, but when I hit the FX button on the footswitch with no FX connected, I still hear some signal (maybe 5%). It's low, but it's there. Is this normal? Will you have the same comb filter effect using multi-FX with the loop as you have with parallel loops?

I may have misunderstood the question. It sounds like you are assuming that if there are no pedals plugged in to the FX loop, but it's turned on, that you expect no sound.