Tremoverb and dual cab impedance question

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

matao

Reaction score
Hey first time poster here. I am sorry if this information can be answered in a previous post, so please brick and redirect if necessary!

Ultimately this is a question about tone and how to channel low end and high end to different cabs through my Tremoverb. Also, I'm a novice at a lot of this but want to understand! Really trying to preserve tone and signal in my rig.

My Rig:

I have a Trem-o-verb head, and had a cab made with 2 V30 speakers wired in parallel. I noticed that my low end was being crushed a lot when I played gigs and rehearsed. I use a POG2 octaver to add a lot of low end to heavy parts of our music.

So I got a cab with 4 eminence speakers that have a mono 4ohm input. There is an 8ohm input as well, but the guy I bought this from said it doesn't work for whatever reason (and the washers/nuts are gone so the jack has fallen into the cab lol) so I'm happy just running it mono at 4ohms.

I want ultimately to use my 2x12 V30 cab for high/mid range output and pump my bass/mid through the 4x12 eminence cab.

Is this possible? Can I do this using just my Trem-o-verb or do I need another piece of equipment (a rack eq or something?)

Do I just plug the 4x12 cab into the 4ohm slot in the head and the 2x12 into the 8ohm slot?

I also don't want to send the wrong impedance through the 2x12. I was running it through the 8ohm slot by itself for awhile, and then heard that I could healthily mismatch it and send it through the 16ohm slot that could keep it from using up too much energy but it might end up sending more signal through the 4x12 resulting in I'm trying to do... I don't know about that so I wanted to see what y'all think!

Sorry that this is so confusing.