Mark V: Live Band Tone Settings Tips

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrownieD2W

Reaction score
Hey Boarders,

I could use some tips on dialing in my tone in the context of a band. I recently started playing with a full band for the first time and I figured several of you guys are a lot more experienced with your Mark V in the context of a full band. I was wondering if you guys might have some tips for getting over the learning curve quicker. A lot of the material we are playing is quite a bit different than what I am accustomed to, but I'm also doing more lead guitar work now.

I am having a hard time dialing in the Rhythm tone I want that works equally well as a Lead tone when slightly boosted. Most of the time when I kick on any form of a boost to my already boosted high-end & mid-range tone from the Amp, I wind up with a really nasal sounding lead tone. Most of the material we are playing at this point is Alice In Chains, Black Sabbath, and early Soundgarden. So any tips to keep in mind when dialing in a more cohesive Rhythm and Lead sound, or any settings to try out in a band-context would very helpful.

My Equipment List: (for reference)

96' Gibson Explorer
Mark V Combo (C90)
MXR 10 Band EQ
Ibanez Tube Screamer TS9
Dunlop Original Crybaby Wah

Basic stuff:

Lower the gain. A lot of your compression will come from volume. Less gain = more clarity and punch. If you keep turning up and still can't hear yourself, this may be the problem.

Watch your lows. Don't step on the bass player. If it sounds nasal when you're playing on your own, it's probably about right. Low E is 80Hz, Low B is 60Hz.

Watch your volume. Have everyone agree to turn down rather than each keeps turning up. It'll save your ears and your vocalist's voice as well. The drummer needs to play to the room.