Complete newb question. What is a recto?

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

yohimbe2

Reaction score
OK, don't laugh. I see a lot of talk about recto this, double recto that etc...etc.. It's probably time I ask what the hell it is.

I just purchased a Rectoverb 2, so my guess is that my amp has some of this "recto" thing everyone mentions.

Can someone please fill me in as to what a recto is?

Recto refers to rectifier, or rectifying - it is the process of taking AC voltage (wall outlet) to high voltage DC for the tubes in the amp.

The "double" rectifier technically refers to having both a tube rectifier and a solid state (semiconductor) diode in the power (not power amp) section of the amplifier.

The terms "Single, Double, Triple" rectifier in relation to the Boogies has taken on a double meaning - how many switchable channels there are in the amplifier, along with having both tube and diode rectification in the power section...

Anyone else want to add to that?

Hope that helps!

The "double" rectifier technically refers to having both a tube rectifier and a solid state (semiconductor) diode in the power (not power amp) section of the amplifier. [/quote]

What is the difference having a tube rectifier OR a solid state ?
How they affect the sound ?

18&Life said:
... said:
The "double" rectifier technically refers to having both a tube rectifier and a solid state (semiconductor) diode in the power (not power amp) section of the amplifier.

What is the difference having a tube rectifier OR a solid state ?
How they affect the sound ?
eh eh i asked someone about this some months ago :)
solid sate rectification (through silicon diodes) is more "ideally-working" and you notice a tighter tone. Tube rectifier isn't working so ideally, and it will give more "sag" to your tone.