Ace Intermittent problem.....You guys should love this!

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Old BF Shred

Reaction score
You guys should love this!

I have been having a very intermittent problem with my (approx) 1 year old Ace head.
And this started within a 2-3 months of purchase.

About every 2-4 weeks the output drops when coming out of stand by.
It does not have to be hot…it has happened when I first turn it on. And I always allow 3-5 minutes to warm up filaments. I run this amp with a variety of cabs all rated for proper impedance for the amp. Problem has happened with all of them.

It can happen after hours of playing….virtually always when going to standby and then coming back out.
I can’t really recall this happening while I’m playing, but my memory isn’t what it used to be…(a case of CRS)

As I am an electronic technician of 30 years experience, I have made some basic checks and tests when I
notice the problem. However, Mesa won’t give me a schematic or voltage charts, and after all, I don’t want to get too involved as it is under warranty.

I have talked to “George”, Mesa’s main stiletto tech and he is unsure as well. I have a Mesa service station not too far away, but it is so intermittent they also recommend waiting ‘til it gets to be more frequent as
“there is no sense tying it up for 2-3 weeks and not being able to duplicate the problem”…..I agree.

So I am curious if any one else has seen these symptoms….

It will reduce the output by about “half” (very subjective, but that is what it seems). Also sounds more distorted, even in clean channel/modes. Possible to turn it up and still get pretty loud.

To clear it up usually requires turning the amp off for a few minutes, turning back on and problem goes away for another few weeks. (I said intermittent!)