First Post...IIC Questions

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brad737

Reaction score
Hello all,

I've been playing for 28 years, and always liked Mesa Boogies, but just never came across the right one at the right time. Anyway, I bought my first Boogie on eBay yesterday...a well-worn Mark IIC combo. And when I say well-worn, I really mean "pretty much trashed". :D I found it on eBay, for what I think is a pretty good deal, so I couldn't resist.

I was hoping you all wouldn't mind a newbie asking what I'm sure are the "standard Boogie" questions that you've answered a million times. (I wasn't getting very far with searching for "IIC"...too short.) Anyway, here goes!

I know I'm going to have to replace the speaker. It's currently loaded with a JBL D-120F. That's a highly desired speaker, so I figure I can sell that and have money left over to buy the "correct" speaker. Am I correct that the stock speaker for the IIC combo is the 8-ohm EVM 12L? I've read that some folks might prefer the Celestion 90? If you were trying to nail the stereotypical Boogie tone, is the 12L the speaker you'd choose?

Next, the cabinet looks pretty rough. It's sort of a cream tolex, with a baby-poop yellow grillcloth. Do you know if these early Boogie cabs are plywood or hardwood? I' e considered re-covering the cab in perhaps a burgundy tolex, or maybe just removing the tolex, sanding it down, and applying a stain. I've also contacted GTS from here about his aftermarket cabs, but haven't heard back yet. Also, I definitely want a wicker grill. I've always loved the look of those. Any recommendations? Is refinishing a cab doable for a DIY project?