The Boogie Board

Discussion Forum for Mesa Boogie Products
It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 8:20 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Sep 05, 2009 9:53 am 
Offline
Mark III

Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 11:00 am
Posts: 161
Remember reading a while back, someone had a mod of sorts to allow
more use of the Master on an F-50

I play at home, and with the Gain dimed (which is where it should be :-)
on channel 2, I can barely move the Master before it's too loud

Someone posted a pic, of like soldering a short across 2 jacks, and
sticking them in the effects loop, then using that as a volume contral sort of
and you can get use the Master more

Can't find that pic anywhere

Anyone have, or remember this mod

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2009 11:14 am 
Offline
Donating Member

Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2007 8:19 am
Posts: 201
Location: Beautiful Southern Ontario!
I don't own an F Series amp any longer, and never got 'round to trying this with my F-30 before I sold it... but I think this is what you're looking for:

Image

_________________
Image
Mk IIa combo
Mk III red stripe combo
Mk III green stripe long head (now belonging to our own rotebass!)
DC-5 combo
MkV head (now belonging to our own theroan!)
Mk IIc+ "S" Code


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2009 11:16 am 
Offline
Mark III

Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 11:00 am
Posts: 161
Thank You Very Much :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2009 11:56 am 
Offline
Donating Member

Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2007 8:19 am
Posts: 201
Location: Beautiful Southern Ontario!
Glad to help... apparently this tweak is 'the business' for any "F". :mrgreen:

_________________
Image
Mk IIa combo
Mk III red stripe combo
Mk III green stripe long head (now belonging to our own rotebass!)
DC-5 combo
MkV head (now belonging to our own theroan!)
Mk IIc+ "S" Code


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 12, 2009 9:48 am 
Offline
Mark II
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 11:35 am
Posts: 87
Location: The Netherlands
It does work fine, I use it permanently on my F50, allows me to put my masters between 10:00 and 12:00 and still have frendly contacts with my neighbours... or stil have bandmates in my band :D

See also my last post on the parent page.

Cheers
Fabien

_________________
www.swunk.nl / myspace.com/lunefauve : Fusion / JazzRock from under the sea level, check it out!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2009 6:45 am 
Offline
Mark II

Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2009 7:09 pm
Posts: 75
I love this tip, what a difference maker! ...ran it in my f-100 1/2 stack [until sold] and find it to invaluable when running my f-50 !!!

_________________
'64 Fender Concert Amp
'71 Fender Super Reverb
[2] '78 Marshall 2104 Combo's
Custom F50 head with matched 3/4 back 1x12
Custom F50 Combo
'87 Roland Cube 60 keyboard CK60
'88 Roland Cube 100 Keyboard CK100


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2010 2:28 am 
Offline
Mark III

Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 3:05 am
Posts: 163
works great even in the small f-30. The same with a volume pedal in the loop


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 9:17 pm 
Offline
Mark I

Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 9:14 pm
Posts: 47
Location: Kentucky
I just did this mod and it seems to work ok but I am not really sure what is going on circuit wise. I got to wondering though....about the v3 tube. Does it come into play all the time or is only relevant when you are using the effects loop. I am thinking that this mod could open up another door to tube selection.
Anyone have any knowledge in this area?
I am wondering how much the mix pot in the back of the amp comes into play here.... as far as......Does it determine the amount of v3 that is thrown into the mix??
I seem to be getting a fair amount of tonal difference depending on which knob is set where..... Master pot compaired to loop pot.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 5:34 pm 
Offline
Donating Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:30 pm
Posts: 2534
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, CA
The F-series loop is split out directly from the main signal path. There is not a separate drive or buffer circuit for the loop.

The path is V2-Tone-V1-V3a-Master-EQ-FXLoop-V3b-PowerAmp

The EQ is solid-state. Whether you drive the Master or the Loop, you should hear about the same result unless you saturate the EQ.

_________________
JP-2C WICKER, Baby!
Mini Rectifier blue LED
2x Recto 2x12 Horizontal
2x Recto 2x12 Vertical


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 12:22 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 9:55 am
Posts: 4
Cool! Does this tax the tubes more/faster in any way?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 1:46 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 3:50 pm
Posts: 2
THIS SHOULD BE AN AUTOMATIC ON ANY F AMP!I JUST PLUGGED SEPERATE JACKS( SOLDERING THE TIP LUG TO THE SLEEVE ON ONE JACK)INTO THE EFFECTS LOOP,WHALA,INSTANT MASTER VOLUME FOR BOTH CHANNELS.I CAN'T BELIEVE THE DIFFERENCE.REALLY OPENED THE AMP UP.THANKS FOR PASSING ALONG THE INFO...I WONDER IF PUTTING A VOLUME PEDAL IN THE LOOP WOULD BE MORE CONVENIENT,THEN YOU COULD PUT THAT MASTER ON THE FLOOR IN FRONT OF YOU(WOULDN'T HAVE TO REACH BEHIND THE AMP)!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2011 6:10 pm 
Offline
Mark I

Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 5:32 pm
Posts: 36
at least you could still use the loop


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2011 5:24 am 
Offline
Mark I

Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 10:48 pm
Posts: 37
I burned my fingers ruining a perfectly good patch cable, but it was worth it for the extra control I get over the volume with this little trick.

Many thanks, Jimmy8!

_________________
    G&L Legacy (w/Keystone pickups, Callaham block)
    Ibanez GB-10
    Barber Tonepress RED
    Nobels ODR-1
    Budda Wah
    Boss DD-3 Analogman mod
    Mesa/Boogie F-50 1x12

http://www.adamusumisu.com
[url]looselectron.blogspot.com[/url]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2011 11:32 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 6:50 am
Posts: 18
Location: Los Angeles
It really is incredible how well it works.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 24, 2017 2:51 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2017 5:33 pm
Posts: 12
I need to try this myself.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group