New Boogie owner + settings help

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DR_JJ

Reaction score
Hey all and merry christmas. Got a big surprise this morning in the form of a new dual rectifier and rectifier 2x12 cab. The tones I have got out of it so far are very pleasing but because I am coming from a solid state line 6 spider I have limited knowledge of how to EQ the tones I am after. I'm trying to get Van Halen and Satriani type lead tones but dont know where to begin. Any tips greatly appreciated.
Also, will I be needing a tube screamer to reach these tones.

Cheers,
Joe

Hello, welcome, and congrats on the new additions to your rig!

Check out these two links for a quick start (tks to domct203 for keeping these links in the conversation (in a different thread)....good stuff).

http://www.forum.grailtone.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=6704

http://www.forum.grailtone.com/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=54097

Strat

ps - Be patient, and prepared to become MUCH better at dialing in an amp by ear then you may have ever been. These are crazy, but vastly satisfying, beasts.

Welcome to The Board and congrats on the new Recto, that's quite the Christmas present for sure!

Coming from a SS amp to an all tube Mesa will be a big adjustment, especially a Recto. The amp is very unforgiving and will force you to be a better player.

For fluid lead tones like VH or Satriani you will want to try some sort of boost out front to give the preamp some added compression and sustain. Don't abuse the gain controls or you will kill all the dynamics in your playing. Start with the gain around 12:00-2:00, and the EQ at 12:00. Use your ears, not your eyes to dial in the amp, and be sure to read your manual as it explains how all the controls interact to shape your tone.