Timefactor/Modfactor vs G Major 2 / Nova Sys - Help please

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

L5man

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm an effects newbie, looking for help on studio class effects. I play mostly jazz styles, a little rock and blues with a multitude of archtop / 335's / and Nik Huber guitars thru EVM-equipped Mark IIC+ and Mark IV combos with an EVM Thiele extension. I want to use the Marks for pre-amp and post-amp, so I don't care about modeling or distortion effects. I want to use the effects loops and have stereo capability. I play mostly at home and in a home studio (under construction).

I'm considering going the Eventide route (Timefactor first followed by Modfactor, someday Pitchfactor), but am still interested in the TC Electronic G-Major 2 and the Nova System. I've been to most of the forums / you-tube demos etc I could find. I'm concerned about the chip problem on the Nova System, and it seems to want to be in the front-end vs in the effects loop. G Major 2 seems like a good choice with updated effects from G System, but is fairly new. I have no experience with racks and programming, but am not concerned. With G Major 2, I'd likely try the 4CM. With all, I'd get a good expression pedal (recommendation?) followed by a Midi pedal. G-major 2 would get a small rack at some point in time. With Eventide, I'd still need some other stand-alones (tuner, compression / noise gate, possible dist/OD) to round out the capability.

Anybody out there have experience with these units that can provide me with some color - contrast and compare?

Thanks a bunch,
Gary