The differences of Mesa Rectifier Series cabinets

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

decoy205

Reaction score
Hey Guys, This is only my 2nd post on the board. Looks like a cool place for Mesa fans! I've used Rectifiers since I started playing and I really will always have a soft spot for them. They are killer products and I feel like owning a Mesa is sort of like getting your first Les Paul. It means you're serious!

Anyway I was always on the hunt for the right cabinet for metal. And at one point I had a full size Recto Cab, and a Dual 3 channel. It was a good rig, but for some reason I could never get the right tone from the speakers. I thought it always sounded 'muddy' or 'mushy' in the low end. I sold some things and shifted stuff around. I have a Bogner Ubercab and a 5150 head now. And It's a really nice cab but I'm missing the tone of that monster Mesa. I know the Mesa V30's are different specs so I'm guessing that is the main thing. But I also know that the Smaller cab size on the trads sound very different from the Oversize standard cabs.

There are 4 types that are common I think with some variation. I'm trying to get opinions on the differences because I'm leaning towards getting a Slant Standard cab above the others for total balance of sound. Here's what my assumptions are by owning two types and listening to clips:

Slant Oversize Standard - Big bass lots of Low mids but Great high end and projection. Great for rock hardcore and metal
Straight Oversize - Even slightly bigger low end lots of low mids great highs but projection is not as great. Great for above as well.

Slant Traditional - Not as much low mids, tighter bass a bit more 'nasally' sounding like a good marshall with V30's - Great for hard rock, blues, rock and metal.
Straight Trad - This one I have almost NO experience with. How do they compare??