Studio pre amp

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

coupie666

Reaction score
Hi guys. I'm totally new to rack gear and have a studio pre amp coming. Basically I'm hoping to run it in the fx loop of my roadking to give me a Mark style lead tone and then e able to flick to a full recto assault. Just wondering if anyone else has any experience with the pre in the fx loop of an amp. Any advice welcomed as I'm a total rack newbie and need all te help I can get!

I'm not sure how you plan to hook it into the FX loop, but It could be tricky. You will be running through the road king preamp before you run into the SP, which means the SP will expect instrument level at its input, but get line level (or more) instead. You can turn down the input level of the SP, but it may or may not work very well (could be noisy or unstable).

Second, the output impedance of the SP, either from the FX send or the main outputs, is high. You will want to make sure that the road king's FX return is >1MegOhm input impedance, or you will need to put a buffer between the SP and RK. The buffer needs to have >1MegOhm input impedance. A Boss GE7 will work in a pinch. Most FET buffers will also do the trick. Or a Valvulator.

The main out of the SP is just a gained-up version of the FX return, so you probably want to try runnign just from the FX send of the SP into the FX ret of the RK. You can then set a switch between LOW and LINE to set the SP's output level to match what you need for the RK. If you still need more output signal than LINE, try the main output.

Awesome thanks for the advice. I have a ge7 so will use that if the fx loop option is the way to go.