Mesa Newbie

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JoeDogInKC

Reaction score
I picked up a used Rect-O-Verb 50 v.2 head today. I know that all Mesa's take a bit of time and patience to "dial in", but I'm hoping that someone can help me find that awesome crunch tone. I'm also thinking of re-tubing it and I'm wondering what the recommended tube brand would be. I'm thinking either JJ's or Groove Tubes, but being a newb, I figured I'd get some opinions.

Congratulations on your new amp. The best thing you could do to start acquainting yourself with your amp and how to dial it in is to go to Mesa's site and download the manual for your amp and read it. I hope this doesn't sound like I am being a dick because I'm not meaning to be. Mesa's do indeed have a bit of a learning curve compared to say a Marshall. I have had my Dual Rec going on 8 years now and I still read the manual from time to time. The manual will also give you some initial settings to start from to dial in "your" tone.

As far as tubes go, I would get in touch with Doug from Dougstubes.com and tell him what amp you have and what tone you are looking for and he will tailor a set of tubes for you.

+1, right on the mark.

Mesa tone controls are very powerful, so very twitchy. Start with everything at 12:00 and work from there. Also, the bass controls tend to run "too much". So if you are struggling to get more bass, what is often happening is that the bass control is too high, making the low-end sound mushy and killing the low mids. It is counterintuitive, but turn the bass down, and you may get a low-end boost.

A little more info, before you go diving into the "tubes" posts on this board:

Preamp tubes last a lot longer than power tubes. If you have to choose between them, replace the power tubes.