Mark V 90 combo purchase: used or new?

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Should I buy a Mark V 90 combo new or used?

• It's not worth the money saved; buy new.

Votes: 2 22.2%
  • Save some money if you can; buy used.

Votes: 7 77.8%

• Total voters

Beery Swine

Reaction score
Right, so this is a really simple question that should have really complex answers. I wanna buy a Mark V 90 watt combo and would like all your advices on whether I should buy it used for a good deal or just plunk down the extra cash for a brand new one. I'm sure most of you have had Mark IIs, IIIs, IVs, and Vs before, along with all the other varied Mesa amps, so what has been your experiences with any glitches and defects after, say, 7 or so years of using one? Also, I'm just a guitar hobbyist, so this future amp of mine will pretty much stay in the same condition I buy it in, apart from the inevitable tube replacements.

I don't know how often this topic is brought up, but hopefully this can also be helpful to anyone in the future with a similar question.

Update: After conversing with some others in the vintage section and listening to comparison videos, I decided to buy an old Mark IV shortbody combo instead. Jesus, it sounds great, I love all 3 channels. Clean, hard rock, heavy metal: channel 3 is pretty easy to dial in some Black Album sound, once you get the hang of what all the push/pulls do. Plus I've been looking at a few pics of James' Mark IIC++ heads to see how he sets them. Once you hear each setting, it's easy to say "hey, that's Puppets" or "that's the song they play at football stadiums all the time".