Lack of bass en dual rect

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

atticus_21

Reaction score
Hi, I’m new with the mesa dual rectifier sound
I bought this amp but I felt a little disappointed with the bass sound. I thought it would be more “powerful” in therms of Bass. Even with max bass in the knob.
Is that normal??
Im from Chile
This is my amp.

What kind of power tubes are in it? EL34 tubes have more mid response and less bass response when compared to 6L6GC tubes, and a different tonal profile. If you want big bass from a Rectifier, IMHO you need those 6L6GC tubes.

I would agree with tbonesullivan on the tubes. I stated the maintenance thing as I had lost all bass on my Roadster a while back. Turns out it was from removing the tube shields too many times from tube rolling and not pulling the chassis out. Trying to get the tube shields in some of the spots was tricky. When you struggle to get the shields back on, that is when you start dropping aluminum from the shields and the chassis (that is made of aluminum as well).

What kind of power tubes are in it? EL34 tubes have more mid response and less bass response when compared to 6L6GC tubes, and a different tonal profile. If you want big bass from a Rectifier, IMHO you need those 6L6GC tubes.
6L6GC

Gain - 12 o'clock
Treble - 0
Mids - 9 o'clock
Bass - 2-3 o'clock
Presence - to taste

Clean Boost ( w/ SD-1 or Tubesscreamer )

Pummel through V30 cab.

Enjoy the best Rectifier tones IMO

Hi, I’m new with the mesa dual rectifier sound
I bought this amp but I felt a little disappointed with the bass sound. I thought it would be more “powerful” in therms of Bass. Even with max bass in the knob.
Is that normal??
Im from Chile
This is my amp.
Welcome to the forum.

I’m guessing this is a used amp? If yes you should at the least put in new power tubes, 6L6GC.