Help me understand my Mark V (first-time Boogie amp owner)!

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jiveman

Reaction score
Hello everybody! Just got my Mark V head few days ago from previous owner. Currently, it's played through a 2x12 Horizontal Rectifier cab. I'm hoping some of you experienced Boogie users and all-around experienced tone masters can give me some good advice and help me understand my new amp a lot better and get the most out of it. :D A bit long read ahead, but maybe some of you will give it 5 mins and understand.

First thing's first: A Little Bit about Me:

I am new to Mark series. I am new to Mesa Boogie. I am new to tube amps! :oops: For the last 12 years or so, I've always been on the budget, always opting for relatively cheap, used, solid-state amps with decent clean channels through which I've been running digital processors responsible for all my sounds (clean, distorted, reverb'd, delayed, chorused, etc.). My setup for last few years has been a Marshall Valvestate combo with BOSS GT-6 processor running everything in front of the CLEAN channel. I've mostly played in cover bands and done some original stuff too. Not much recording. I've learned to live with this setup, and learned to do it fairly well for my needs. I've been complemented on my tone several times (although they were probably not quite tone fanatics :)). Nothing fancy, but I think I have managed to strike a good balance of things on the GT-6 (amp emulation + overdrive + reverb/delay/chorus/compression as needed, noise suppression, etc.), coupled with some old-school guitar volume knob work (I often tweak the volume knob as I play). The GT-6 was a HUGE improvement over some older Digitech stuff I used before that. The amp emulators sounded A LOT better to me. Btw, been playing with my Ibanez JPM3 for the last few years, which is now my main guitar. :D