correct match or safe mismatch ?

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chennie

Reaction score
ok, I have quite a dilemma and I need your advice.

At the moment I have a Rect-O-Verb 2, great, fantastic, blababla you know the drill. This is connected to my speakers, Celestion black shadow 90 and v30, great sound, blablabla.

Now here is the problem, currently the speakers and amp form a safe mismatch. Though it is a safe mismatch, it is still a mismatch wich results in differents in tone and wearing down of power transformers and tubes, right ?

Now I have been offered to sell the (brandnew by the way) V30's, with the money and 30 euro extra I could buy two new speakers wich would have a correct match.

The question is, is having a correct match considered in tone and technical longevity worth it? Remember I'm a poor and lazy student type of guy. (for the deal I have to dismount the speakers, arrange a date etcetera)

Anyone?

yeah, its supposed to wear on your tubes a little more, but you have to keep in mind thats all relative to how hard you are pushing your amp to begin with. As far as wear on the OT, I really wouldnt worry about it.

Yes, the sound is a little darker and sometimes a little crunchier, but the most important thing is, are you happy with your sound right now?
If so, then dont change a thing!

The other thing is, dont go out of your way to make this conversion in hopes of it really changing your tone, because its not going to do that.

no soul said:
The other thing is, dont go out of your way to make this conversion in hopes of it really changing your tone, because its not going to do that.