Changing Tubes in the LSS

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jared Purdy

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to the Mesa world, and have recently purchased a LSS. So far so good, though I haven't had for more than a few days. When I bought a Fender PRRI last summer, I noticed some tonal characteristics that I didn't like, so I did some searching on the web and found some answers. I changed all of the stock GT tubes for Tung Sols, and put a 12AY7 in V1 as with a 12AX7 in V1, the amp crapped out at about 5/10. My question, and this is in response to what I have read from some posters on this site, who say that the LSS doesn't have enough head room to be used in a club (unmiked), has anyone tried different manufacturer's tubes (like Tung Sol), and/or has anyone tried a 12AY7 in V1 to boost the head room?? I don't gig, so I'm not too worried about it crapping out. 30 watts is extremely loud in a house!
Thanks.

Just because the sound is clean doesn't mean there's more "headroom".
The 12AY7 has a gain factor of 45.
The 12AX7 has a gain factor of 100.
So, a 12AY7 has 55% less gain than a 12AX7.
As you have no doubt noticed, this yields a cleaner sound. This does not mean "more headroom". It means LESS.
In order to obtain the same degree of distortion as a 12AX7, the 12AY7 must be turned up roughly 55% more. You run out of room on the knob, see? To get the same sound as 3 on a 12AX7, the 12AY7 has to be cranked to 5.
That's less head room, not more. Headroom occurs when you get the sound you want and have lots of room left over to turn it up further without distortion.