Can weird tube combos screw my amp?

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

enuenu

Reaction score
If you get it wrong can using the wrong tubes screw your amp?

The reason I ask is I am thinking of putting my faith (as I have no knowledge) in Eurotubes' re tube sets for DRs as detailed here. I was interested in the "Mesa Dual Rec My Personal Fave" near the bootom of the linked page. It reads as follows;

Mesa Dual Rec My Personal Fave
Price: $176.75
Description: A lot of my customers know that I own a Dual Rec and quite often ask me "What is your favorite tube lineup?" So here it is! This is what I run in my DR. After a lot of experimenting with different grades I came up with the perfect grades to do this and get the bias just right. For power I run an Integrated quad of two KT77's in the outside sockets with a pair of 6V6's in the inside sockets and two GZ34 rectifiers. For the front end a Gold Pin ECC803S in V1, a Gold Pin ECC83S in V2, a high gain ECC83S in V3, a standard ECC83S in V4 and a balanced ECC83S in V5. These get a killer clean and a smooth rich tone with plenty of distortion and the warmest tone I've heard yet from a DR. I run these in the tube rec and EL34 mode in the bold setting.

Does such a combination of tubes push the amp beyond what Mesa designers would recommend in any way? To someone like me who knows nothing of the electronics it sounds plain dangerous. But if it is safe as houses and gets me closer to tonal Nirvana, I'm there.

It seems you have ensure you select "bold" and "tube rectifier" settings or maybe something bad could happen. This indicates that maybe the combination of tubes pushes the envelope a bit.

Are some of the other DR cocktails that Eurotubes have on offer "safer" than the "personal fave"? I have no intereest in anything that has the slightest chance of damaging my amp.