Calling all tube/tone /amp general experts...!!

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

darth beans

Reaction score
Allrighty...I'll try to make a long story short... After trying out an invader 150 through an engl cab(with vintage greenbacks) a while back I decided to get the 100 version. I'm still gassing for a mark5 and an engl steve morse to. I love this amp.....awesome clean channel,channel 2 is like a smoother beefier marshall,channels 3 and 4 killer solo channels. Got said invader 100 off of ebay. Used/mint....unfortunately it had been retubed with JJ's all the way through. I have tried some different pre tubes...EH,ruby,gt,some nos,tung sol...etc. I'm no expert but I have learned a lot from what I have read here and experimenting.

So My problem is this...I cant seem to get rid of the spikey harsh tone.Just not as smooth as the 150(which had stock rebranded sovtek's). It's not my guitar,I have a good cab...I was missing some gain and noticed a lot of the eq sweep was gone. I fixed this by changing out the jj's. I still am missing some gain and am not digging the tone. Channels 3 and 4 eeehh. I need some suggestions for power amp tubes.

I am considering tung sol el34b,sed winged c's,Sveltana el34's and have heard good things about the new ruby's (i know they are chinese! lol). Gimme your insights please!!!! also what about 6ca7 tubes?? I heard they have higher output. will this give me more volume and distortion or more headroom??? I don't want early distortion but I think the amp is running to clean...I thought maybe it's biased cold?? what can you tell me about plate voltage??? ma ratings...this is where i get lost a little.The 150 and 100 watt versions are the same by the way.Engl states the 100 is voiced more open and less compressed....