Any Celestion G12K100 and CL80/C90 fans?

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

boardn10

Reaction score
I've been using the Redbacks and V30s a lot lately, but I've been mixing the V30 with a K100 in a 212 and CL80 or K100 with a Redback in another 212.
I really live the results of all these speakers with the Mark V.
Curious if anyone else is digging these speakers and what your experience has been?

I haveba Stone Age with Redback/K100, looking to change to Redback/CL80. I tried two Redbacks and it was rich, deep and dark but I am preferring a blend.

I've been using the C90 Black Shadow speaker for 17 years now, which by all accounts I've read is very close to the Classic Lead 80.

I finally tried 2 V30s this past fall (one Chinese, one of the Mesa UK-made version) but could not bond with either one, they were just to bright for me. It could be that I never let the speakers break in enough, but what I heard did not entice me to want to keep playing them.

The C90 seems more well-rounded overall, and for cleans it's far warmer and clearer sounding, especially on a non-metal guitar (ie, a Gretsch or Fender Jazzmaster).

For my band, to cut the mix well, best mix I have found is English V30/Redback.
CL80s and K100s work well mixed in too.
I find, I need to have the thickness, girth and punch of the V30 in most of my cabs.
Don't seem bright at all to me.

This band is a cross between Tool and Slipknot.

For my band, to cut the mix well, best mix I have found is English V30/Redback.
CL80s and K100s work well mixed in too.
I find, I need to have the thickness, girth and punch of the V30 in most of my cabs.
Don't seem bright at all to me.

I've got an old 4x12 C90 and G12-75 loaded, best cab i've ever own. I'm not a V30 fan, unless they're blended eith something else.
2xV30 and 2xG12-75 could be an option