Mark III with digital pedals in effects loop

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

marion

Reaction score
Hi,

Mesa newbie here. My first Mesa is a Mark III red stripe.

I need advice. I can't figure out what's causing this problem and whether there's a solution. I have a Wampler Tumnus Deluxe (Klon style pedal) in front of my Mark III red stripe in the rhythm 1 channel. Sounds great but once I put in a digital pedal in the effects loop like a Boss DD500 or Zoom MS100BT, something happens regardless of gain and level setting on the Tumnus. With the Zoom MS100BT, sounds normal at first but as the sustain fades, the sound flutters or makes a fartsy sound. With the DD500, it squeals as soon as you hit a note. If I remove both pedals and leave only my TC Hall of Fame reverb in the effects loop, no issues. If I put all my pedals in front ( other pedals -> Tumnus -> Zoom -> DD500 -> reverb -> Mark), there are no issues. I don't want this setup though because I want my delay after dirt for when I use the lead channel. I tried putting a volume pedal after effects send to back off the volume/level going into the digital pedals but it doesn't help.

So, what's causing my problem? Is it the effects loop of the Mark, the digital pedals, impedance mismatch or simply the sum of all? Note that I have other overdrives/distortion in front but only the Tumnus has this effect on the Mark III. Thanks!!!

Im not sure if this is the answer you want to hear, but if the only one dirt pedal is causing the issue, it's highly likely that IS the issue. Have you tried running the tumnus in the efx loop? You'll have to redo your tone settings in it because of the change in tone stack locstion, but it's worth a shot.

I have a red stripe also and it doesn't like my Strymon stuff in the loop.
The overall effect and tone just seems off. An MXR carbon works great though.