The Boogie Board

Discussion Forum for Mesa Boogie Products
It is currently Thu Jul 19, 2018 12:36 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:02 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 12:56 pm
Posts: 19
Hello all this is my first post to the board, I've just ordered my first mesa and I'm stoked. It's a red stripe "simulclass" that the techs at mesa say has been modded to a non simul. My question is why and how? I called mike at mesa to see about it getting switched back but could I benifit more from this?

_________________
Mesa Boogie Mark III Red Stripe
Roland Jc-120
Epiphone Explorer 84 Reissue (Alpine White)+(Ebony)
ESP LTD EXP 200 (Satin Grey)
BOSS BF-3, NS-2, TU-3, PS-6 Ch-1
MXR Phase 90, Phase 100
Tubescreamer TS808
EHX Switchblade


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:03 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 12:56 pm
Posts: 19
I'm waiting on Mikes call back but would like to hear from you guys

_________________
Mesa Boogie Mark III Red Stripe
Roland Jc-120
Epiphone Explorer 84 Reissue (Alpine White)+(Ebony)
ESP LTD EXP 200 (Satin Grey)
BOSS BF-3, NS-2, TU-3, PS-6 Ch-1
MXR Phase 90, Phase 100
Tubescreamer TS808
EHX Switchblade


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2016 4:38 am 
Offline
Mark III

Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 4:29 am
Posts: 379
Welcome to the board man! I am Sotiris aka #ios4ever# ;)

_________________
MESA BOOGIE MARK III BLUE STRIPE proud owner
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qqZz5rHHIIk
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VBXj8AJ108Y
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1gejXLj8W-Q
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Eptmr_XaRQ


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2016 11:21 am 
Offline
Mark III

Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 6:14 am
Posts: 229
Location: France
easy to get Simulclass , just add or reconnect central tubes pin 8 to switch open/ground


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2016 5:48 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 12:56 pm
Posts: 19
sotosprince wrote:
Welcome to the board man! I am Sotiris aka #ios4ever# ;)
thanks man I've saw ya here a time or two.
BlackBoxy wrote:
easy to get Simulclass , just add or reconnect central tubes pin 8 to switch open/ground

And that's it? What if the hacked the transformer out? I shpuld have it in my possession in 3 or 4 days so I'm not sure what has happened to it

_________________
Mesa Boogie Mark III Red Stripe
Roland Jc-120
Epiphone Explorer 84 Reissue (Alpine White)+(Ebony)
ESP LTD EXP 200 (Satin Grey)
BOSS BF-3, NS-2, TU-3, PS-6 Ch-1
MXR Phase 90, Phase 100
Tubescreamer TS808
EHX Switchblade


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2016 7:05 pm 
Offline
Dual Recto

Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 11:21 pm
Posts: 2833
Location: North Alabama C+ Mafia-Kingpin
To truly change from a Simulclass to a 60/100, a different output transformer is used, I believe.

_________________
"One of these days, I'm gonna change my evil ways....... one of these days.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2016 12:31 am 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 12:56 pm
Posts: 19
Mesa called and left a voicemail saying if a amp was born there simul class and switch over here"I hope" and to be switched back here "I hope" then yes it can be done. Those are the exact words. I'm going to call him back tomorrow. But yes I would think that too about the transformer but mesa acted like it was a quick easy change. I hope easy enough for me to do cause thats cutting my cab funds all up Lola. Thanks guys!!

_________________
Mesa Boogie Mark III Red Stripe
Roland Jc-120
Epiphone Explorer 84 Reissue (Alpine White)+(Ebony)
ESP LTD EXP 200 (Satin Grey)
BOSS BF-3, NS-2, TU-3, PS-6 Ch-1
MXR Phase 90, Phase 100
Tubescreamer TS808
EHX Switchblade


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2016 5:28 am 
Offline
Mark III

Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 6:14 am
Posts: 229
Location: France
JOEY B. wrote:
To truly change from a Simulclass to a 60/100, a different output transformer is used, I believe.


nope,

its the same OT , and as all Mark III are 4 amp tubes powered as simul class, it can easily be revesed to class A/simul class , i don't see what are advantages to mod a class A to permanent simulclass , OT delta voltage is around 5 volt between both pairs of tubes output!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2016 8:34 am 
Offline
Single Recto

Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 11:43 am
Posts: 1459
Location: NYC
Simul class uses an "ultra-linear" OT,that has seperate taps that would be for the screens in a 2 tube output.These taps are used for the plates of the inner pair of tubes for simul class.Delivers a couple less volts to the inner pair.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2016 2:07 pm 
Offline
Mark III

Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 6:14 am
Posts: 229
Location: France
stokes wrote:
Simul class uses an "ultra-linear" OT,that has seperate taps that would be for the screens in a 2 tube output.These taps are used for the plates of the inner pair of tubes for simul class.Delivers a couple less volts to the inner pair.



an ultra linear OT coil? what is that ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2016 4:20 pm 
Offline
Single Recto

Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 11:43 am
Posts: 1459
Location: NYC
Look at the schem for a simul class.You will see a winding tap on each side just short of the plate tap at the end of the winding.Before Mesa came up with their simul class scheme these transformers were used as "ultra linear output trannies".That extra tap was connected to the screen of the output tube on that side,with the longer tap connected to the plate.It delivered a few volts less to the screens.In simul,Mesa uses these taps for the inner set of tubes plates.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2016 8:08 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 12:56 pm
Posts: 19
Well you all have lost me lol. I'll wait and see what transformer it has and try to get pics up. I'm doing this on a phone so I'm not sure if I can. Thanks guys

Jordan

_________________
Mesa Boogie Mark III Red Stripe
Roland Jc-120
Epiphone Explorer 84 Reissue (Alpine White)+(Ebony)
ESP LTD EXP 200 (Satin Grey)
BOSS BF-3, NS-2, TU-3, PS-6 Ch-1
MXR Phase 90, Phase 100
Tubescreamer TS808
EHX Switchblade


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2016 7:28 am 
Offline
Mark III

Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 6:14 am
Posts: 229
Location: France
stokes wrote:
Look at the schem for a simul class.You will see a winding tap on each side just short of the plate tap at the end of the winding.Before Mesa came up with their simul class scheme these transformers were used as "ultra linear output trannies".That extra tap was connected to the screen of the output tube on that side,with the longer tap connected to the plate.It delivered a few volts less to the screens.In simul,Mesa uses these taps for the inner set of tubes plates.



thanx alot, i know about the taps, schematics are clear on this, it was just the linearity of a a signal through a solenoid .

regards


Last edited by BlackBoxy on Fri Feb 26, 2016 7:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2016 7:31 am 
Offline
Mark III

Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 6:14 am
Posts: 229
Location: France
Jordan1990 wrote:
Well you all have lost me lol. I'll wait and see what transformer it has and try to get pics up. I'm doing this on a phone so I'm not sure if I can. Thanks guys

Jordan



you do think they changed the OT ? so yes it could be problematic


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2016 10:18 am 
Offline
Single Recto

Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 11:43 am
Posts: 1459
Location: NYC
The transformer is the key ingredient in simul,but it doesnt mean the transformer was changed.A simple re-wire of the plate taps may be all they've done.The switch on the cathodes of the inner tubes isnt so much a simul switch as it is a "class A" switch.In order to have simul you need 4 power tubes connected,in these amps there is no way to have 4 powertubes active without being in simul.......except to re-wire the plate connections or change the tranny.If the tranny is not blown,I can see no reason to change out the tranny,so it is likely someone did the simple mod.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], s-fresh and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group