IM A PICKUP NOOB HELP!

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MoonxShade

Reaction score
So i been want to get a wilde l500xl i heard its as tight and aggresive as pickups can get i just dont know anything about neck pickups and how to match pickups and when to even use neck pickups in metal

Nuno and Dime both had this figured out:

L500XL + '59N. I did that in my ash Charvel and couldn't be happier.

Thanks for responding bud! But i dont think i want to use a 59 i really want to come up with something really different from everyone else thats why i choose the 500xl because literally everyones using emgs i want a all original sound so i prolly dont want a 59

Hey man, can I make a suggestion since it sounds like you're kinda starting out? Honestly, if you're playing more modern (like, after 1985) heavy stuff, start with a set of EMGs. Really.

For high gain (as opposed to blues or jazz or classic rock where you never get past "crunchy"), pickups are not the most important part of your "sound" as long as they're pretty high-output humbuckers. I'm not saying they don't matter, but speaker changes, a different boost pedal, dialing the amp differently, or even just a different tube in V1 will almost always make a bigger difference. Pickups are also pretty cheap to change later compared to cab/speakers or amp or guitar, or even a decent boost.

EMGs will give you a really good 'baseline' because, like you said, everybody uses them. That's because they generally play well with any high gain amp, they're balanced between being meaty enough for riffing but not woofy or loose in the lows, they have enough highs for shredding, and they also do cleans well enough. I'm not saying "they're the best", because that's an individual thing, but they're a standard in metal because they're really good for metal.