can I put JJ's in my Mark IV

Mark I's, II's, III's and the almight IV

Moderators: Guitarzan, Grandor, ned, Platypus

Post Reply
MetallicaFreak65
Mark I
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2009 12:08 pm

can I put JJ's in my Mark IV

Post by MetallicaFreak65 » Sun Jan 11, 2009 6:08 pm

I need new tubes badley and dont have the cash for mesa's and Ive heard good things about JJ;s and there 20 bucks cheaper. SO if I put these tubes in the link into my Mark IV would it effecot or mess up the fixed bias.
http://cgi.ebay.com/Matched-Quad-of-JJ- ... 7C294%3A50
Mesa Boogie 98' Mark IV
ESP MX II Black Explorer
Dean Dime-O-Flame

User avatar
6L6C
Donating Member
Posts: 653
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 8:23 am
Location: Long Island NY
Contact:

Re: can I put JJ's in my Mark IV

Post by 6L6C » Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:19 pm

You really need to contact the guy (tell him what amp you have) and see if he has a set within Mesa Boogie specs. He has allot of sales with great feedback and seems to deal in nothing but tubes (so that’s a good thing).
Mesa’s have a fixed bias so the tubes must be in a certain range. Run to hot and things will go wrong and a trip to the tech you go, or you just get short life out of the tubes. And if they are running to cold you might not be that all crazy about the sound.

If that guy can’t give you a set in Mesa specs try http://eurotubes.com/ he deals with nothing but JJ’s.
Personally if you can swing it try some SED Winged =C= from Doug http://dougstubes.com/sed.html
Again if you do end up ordering from Bob (Eurotubes) or Doug (Doug’s tubes) Tell them what amp you have in the case of these two guys they would probably ask you anyway.
DCR-1SR rack wah > GRX4 (router) In the loops before preamp
Keeley compressor
BB Preamp
EVH Flanger
Mark IV - Axe Fx std - 2x12 Recto (Warehouse Veteran 30's)
Controlled by Rocktron All Access

Post Reply