Just bought a Throttle Box EQ

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cadaveric

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

This is my first post on the board. Like I mention in the thread title I purchased yesterday a Throttle Box EQ pedal and it seems amazing. Since its my first Mesa/Boggie product and I have no experience with the 5-band EQ I was wondering if any of you have this pedal and have some suggestions on how to use it or any advise in general regarding the EQ.

For now I am looking mainly for a thrash tone close to Master Of Puppets or Justice albums of Metallica.

My Amp is a Marshall TSL 601 and my guitar a Les Paul with the original humbuckers.

Thank you for your time in advance.

Thank you for you responce and sorry for the delay in my answer I am in the army for the time beeing and time is rather limited.

I know that Metallica requires scooped mids but since I mostly new to distortion pedals and completely new to the boogie eq I was hoping if any of you guys could further elaborate .
I am mostly concerned how the eq and the midcut knob reacts with each other as well as with the eq of the clean channel of my amp. I am not necessarily trying to to copy the Puppets or the Justice sound but I am looking, for the luck of a better word, the same "feeling" I guess? A sound that cuts through the mix that its not overly scooped and has that punch.
In summary are there any guidelines that i should be following that would help make my quest for tone easier, or things i should avoid?

Thank you in advance for you time.

Rock on!

People seem to think dropping the middle slider first is the best way to shape the sound but for me it's the last one I touch. If you're after the old Metallica tone you want to try the following: