Dual Caliber - 5 and pedals

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

barkythedog

Reaction score
i hope this in the right place .Ive just bought a mesa boogie dc-5, i plugged in my boss gt-8 and it just killed the tone now the question is is it worth peservering with the gt-8 with its various cabling methods, or should i get an individual overdrive (compression) chorus and delay pedals, if so which ones would be best for the amp (im a newbie so sorry for being dumb) thankyou for any help Barky.

Hi,
I am not familiar with the GT 8 but assume you can place dist / overdrive effects before the amp and echo etc in the loop. Up until recently I used a boss GX700 for my echo, delay etc in my loop (Mesa Mk1 re-ssue) with a few drive pedals in front of the amp. I have now gone for a selection of pedals all in the front end of my amp. I basically got a bit tired using presets and am now enjoying tweaking all my new toys. I feel you kinda play safe when using rack type gear. As I use my drive pedals to get my dirt I don't bother with the effects loop so it depends if you use your amps distortion, the way you set up. Some pedals I can recommend are: Keeley TS9 & DS1 Ultra & T Rex Compnova. Good luck I think you will enjoy playing with some new pedals and you can always change pedals as your taste or style alters.
Youngie41

thanks very much for the heads up m8 much appriciated, im actually picking up tonight an, overdrive/ compression pedal to try for a week or two cant remember the name but will post brand tonight for some advice thanks again. Barky

I am using a visual sound route 66 overdrive / Compressor pedal but im currently experiencing feedback despite keeping the settings low is it best on the dc 5 to run the pedals through the front input or through the send and recieve at the back to avoid this problem, Thanks for any help Barky