Newbie here; whatchu guys use with quad>strategy 400 rig?

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dupedd

Reaction score
I'm actually on here for my completely computer illiterate Boogie freak guitar bud. He's wicked with his ax but refuses to spend a lick of time really researching this stuff, so before he goes out and buys another whole rig looking for the sound(wants Dimebags rig and a Krank currently) I decided to go ahead and do his homework for him. Yeah, that's right, I'ma real bud alright.

anyway, here's the problem: He has a Mesa quad reverb with a strategy 400 and a grate mesa cab(4x12) from the day with two 90 watt EV's I think and whatever else(ah, black shadows). Both pieces have not been gone through since he got them last year, not even the tubes, though they look healthy, no redplating at least or microphonics I don't really think. It does make some strange noises sometimes though( do really high gain amps make different 'microphonic' noises than classic amps, ex: vox ac30)

He's messed with the EQ on the quad for months now and is not satisfied. To me, the QUAD looks like there's enough EQ specifics to get a good sound(BTW he's using EMG 81 and 85 HB's in ibanez RG's). Of course he's after early Metallica sound here. or heavy rock/metal in general

My question to you Boogie vets; do you all use outboard eq's with this rig and if so, what/which?

The only other thing I can think is the tubes should probably be tested, though most in the 400 are pretty new and it is cathosed biased so there shouldn't really be a biasing problem I think.

That's it I guess. Any tips or help would be mondosupremely appreciated by me and my bandmate( not to mention the rest of the band :wink: )
Thanks!