TriAxis FX loop issue

Triaxis, Quad Preamp, Stereo Power series, Recto Preamp

Moderators: Guitarzan, Grandor, ned

Post Reply
bettsaj
Bottle Rocket
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 11:44 am

TriAxis FX loop issue

Post by bettsaj » Thu May 04, 2017 4:11 pm

I have a G-Force going through the TriAxis FX loop.

Wired as follows:

TriAxis FX send > G-Force Left in
G-Force left output > TriAxis FX return A
G-Force right output > TriAxis FX return B

On the Triaxis when the FX loop is on i only hear the left channel, when the FX loop is off I only hear the right channel.

I'm at a loss.... And can't figure out why when i page through the SW/Loop settings on the TriAxis the above happens.

I have it wired in series at the moment, bypassing the FX loop altogether and it's working beautifully.... I'd really like to use the FX loop as the clarity of the G-Force is better it being a digital unit.

r33per
Mark II
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2015 11:50 am
Location: Scotland, UK
Contact:

Re: TriAxis FX loop issue

Post by r33per » Fri May 05, 2017 4:58 am

Full disclosure: I do not work a stereo rig, nor do I own a G-Force - just a Gmajor2.

Assuming that you have verified the integrity of all the cables in the signal chain, have you tested the audio path when cabled up in Mono? For example:
  • Tri FXS -> L-IN -> L-OUT -> Tri FXR-L
    Tri FXS -> R-IN -> R-OUT -> Tri FXR-L
    Tri FXS -> L-IN -> L-OUT -> Tri FXR-R
    Tri FXS -> R-IN -> R-OUT -> Tri FXR-R
This should verify that there are no connection issues on the Triaxis and that the G-Force is routing audio through both input/outputs.

True North Function Band
Ibanez JS10th
Ibanez RG752AHM NGD
Mesa Triaxis (V2, TX4D)
Mesa Simul-class 2:90 (V1)
TC G Major 2
TC 1128
Marshall 1912

bettsaj
Bottle Rocket
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 11:44 am

Re: TriAxis FX loop issue

Post by bettsaj » Fri May 05, 2017 7:04 am

Right, I have triple checked all cables.... All hand soldered by me, no issues.

I have also checked the G-Force running in stereo in series, placing it between the pre-amp and the power amp.... All works really well.

I'll have to check your theory tonight as i'm work at the moment.

Andy

Post Reply