The Boogie Board

Discussion Forum for Mesa Boogie Products
It is currently Sat Sep 23, 2017 1:15 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: studio preamp IIC+
PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 3:55 am 
Offline
Mark II

Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 1:51 am
Posts: 107
Hi


I want to know which power amp I need to use with the studio preamp to get as close as possible to a 2C+
Should I go for a 50/50 or a simul class 295 power amp ? I read somewhere that the studio preamp is almost identical to the 2c+ preamp section, is this true?
Any insights would be extremely helpful.


thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: studio preamp IIC+
PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 9:35 am 
Offline
Mark II
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:55 pm
Posts: 60
Location: East Coast, New Jersey
I had this same question a few years ago when I saw a Studio Preamp on sale from a local guy.

According to Mike B from Boogie: The Studio was based on the C+

According Marcus Daniel from Boogie: The studio pre and the quad pre are both pretty different in tone from the MK II C+. They still have similar Mark Series characteristics and similar tonal nuances, but they'll never sound exactly like a C+. Neither to my knowledge were built with the C+ in mind.

Via an original product flyer, the Studio is channel 1 of the Quad preamp. Which was based off the C+

According to Shane C and grailtone member: After reading the schematics, the Studio has the same circuit design, control layout and operation as the 2c+ but different component values such as resistors and caps.

The Studio manual suggested the Simul 295

_________________

93 97 98 PRS CE24
94 98 G&L Legacy
94 G&L ASAT Special
95 G&L S-500
99 Peavy Wolfgang
11 Gibson LP Studio 60

69 Bandmaster Head
88 Quad Pre
91 & 92 Simul 295
92 DC-5
96 Mark IV Maple/Wicker
98 5150 combo
08 Mark IV Wide


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: studio preamp IIC+
PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 10:22 am 
Offline
Mark II

Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 1:51 am
Posts: 107
Thanks for the info... I read somewhere that a mesa 50/50 is basicly or almost the same as a 2c+ poweramp according to mike bendinelli. However if you really want a 2c+ to shine you need simulclass I think... so this is my dilemma. Both are available atm in my region :-)

A real 2c+ with simul class and all options is like unobtanium... i have a 2c+ but it is 60 watt no simul class ofcourse. But I want a backup for the road. Real 2c+ stays in the studio for recording only

Any insights?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: studio preamp IIC+
PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 12:10 pm 
Offline
Mark IV

Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 9:13 pm
Posts: 504
The Studio Pre sounds like what it is: an excellent, no-frills rack preamp that provides great tones at exceptional value. There is no power amp you can pair with it that will turn it into a IIC+. If there were, everybody would know about it. You should be able to get tones out of the SP and any quality power amp that put you in the same general vicinity as a C+ type tone, but it'll always have its own thing going on. Embrace that, I say.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: studio preamp IIC+
PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 12:34 pm 
Offline
Mark II

Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 1:51 am
Posts: 107
I want to come close but I realise that duplicating is not 100% possible... i am happy with 95%


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: studio preamp IIC+
PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 3:05 pm 
Offline
Mark IV

Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 9:13 pm
Posts: 504
Sounds like simul-class is what you're after, so that narrows the options considerably. I used to have a Simul 395, which sounded like the voice of God when paired with my Studio Preamp, but eventually I decided a Mark III head would be more convenient for me, so I went that route instead. The 395s are rare, but the simpler 295s are usually available on the used market.

In my dreams, I have a Simul Satellite in a rackmount kit to pair with my Studio Pre. Those don't come up for sale too often though. And plus...I have the III+ purple stripe head, so that would be a crazy waste of money for a guy who's not even playing guitar in a band currently.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: studio preamp IIC+
PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 11:34 pm 
Offline
Mark II
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:55 pm
Posts: 60
Location: East Coast, New Jersey
I would agree with any of the Simul power amps. Best sounding power amps I've used. Only real drawback is how much it costs to replace the tubes. I think it's worth it if you can get your hands on one, or two. Lol. I lucked out in getting my 295 back in the late 90's early 2k when people were selling Boogie gear because it was too large/heavy.

_________________

93 97 98 PRS CE24
94 98 G&L Legacy
94 G&L ASAT Special
95 G&L S-500
99 Peavy Wolfgang
11 Gibson LP Studio 60

69 Bandmaster Head
88 Quad Pre
91 & 92 Simul 295
92 DC-5
96 Mark IV Maple/Wicker
98 5150 combo
08 Mark IV Wide


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: studio preamp IIC+
PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:56 am 
Offline
Mark II

Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 1:51 am
Posts: 107
a simul 295 just came up locally for 450 euro... Good deal I think but indeed changing the tubes will cost €€€


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: studio preamp IIC+
PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2017 2:57 pm 
Offline
Mark III

Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2014 12:17 pm
Posts: 180
Location: Canada
I think people forget something when they ask what power amp is closest to the IIC+ power amp: The IIC+ came with three different power amps. The 60w, the 100/60w, and the ClassA/SimulClass power amp.

To those ends, the 50/50 is probably pretty close to the 60w power amp, and their SimulClass power amps would resemble the IIC+ Simul class ones. At least for getting in the same ballpark.

_________________
Mark V
Studio Preamp
formerly: Quad Preamp, Rocket 44 112


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: studio preamp IIC+
PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 1:11 pm 
Offline
Mark II

Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 1:51 am
Posts: 107
What about a 2:90? It has simul class, would that pair ok with the studio preamp? Or will a 295 be more vintage sounding?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: studio preamp IIC+
PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2017 8:23 am 
Offline
Donating Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 10:36 pm
Posts: 1446
Location: DC Metro Area
I'd recommend a Mesa 295, assuming Simul is your thing.

_________________
Boogie user of 20+ years, previous owner of 150+ Rectos, author of the previous "2 Channel Recto User Guide" and current "3 Channel Recto User Guide" (in progress).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: studio preamp IIC+
PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2017 6:16 am 
Offline
Mark II

Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 1:51 am
Posts: 107
Can I slave the studio preamp in one of my marshall like heads say friedman/splawn through the return of the fx loop? This is basicly what hetfield did with his 2c+ I think?

Slaving the preamp will require my splawn loop to operate on line level +4db I think, correct?

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: studio preamp IIC+
PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2017 12:26 pm 
Offline
Mark III

Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2014 12:17 pm
Posts: 180
Location: Canada
kirk19 wrote:
Can I slave the studio preamp in one of my marshall like heads say friedman/splawn through the return of the fx loop? This is basicly what hetfield did with his 2c+ I think?

Slaving the preamp will require my splawn loop to operate on line level +4db I think, correct?

Thanks!


Yup and yup, you're right on the money there.

_________________
Mark V
Studio Preamp
formerly: Quad Preamp, Rocket 44 112


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: studio preamp IIC+
PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2017 1:26 pm 
Offline
Mark II

Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 1:51 am
Posts: 107
Ok thanks! Just making sure I don't blow up my gear. I am very cautious with my amps and guitars.
I read somewhere on the forum that mike B said that you can use the send output from the studio preamp and go from there to a power amp for getting closer to the 2c+ preamp (you bypass the recording out this way which can load the preamp according to him). I am guessing if I do this I need to set the fx loop switch of the studio preamp also on line lvl so everything is connected on line lvl? If I do it this way instead of going through the main outputs, Can I still add a time based effect (eventide timefactor set to line lvl) between the studi preamp send and the return of the splawn fx loop or will this be impossible?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: studio preamp IIC+
PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2017 4:43 pm 
Offline
Mark III

Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2014 12:17 pm
Posts: 180
Location: Canada
Alternatively, you could set your Splawn loop and Studio Preamp to both low level as well.

But yeah, the effects send is very similar to the main outs, just skips a little bit of circuitry and the main output knobs, and the loading caused by the recording outs. Use them interchangably, and effects can go in there fine as well. The transition between a preamp and a power amp and an effects loop are both usually the same thing, so effects designed to go there will work.

_________________
Mark V
Studio Preamp
formerly: Quad Preamp, Rocket 44 112


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group