The Boogie Board

Discussion Forum for Mesa Boogie Products
It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 4:49 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Problems with Studio Pre
PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2016 10:05 am 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2016 10:04 pm
Posts: 3
I bought a Studio preamp a few months ago and have been connecting it to an impulse loader mainly for recording. It has worked fine in the past few months until yesterday when I switched the amp from standby and the output was very low. I have no idea what the problem could be. I checked all of my cables and it wasn't that so I'm guessing it has to be an internal problem.

This happens on either the rhythm or lead channels. Everything else on the amp seems to work from what I could tell aside from the low output. It also had some sound leakage(?) before when it was still working normally. With my impulse loader's output muted I could hear my guitar signal coming through from the Studio pre hardware itself faintly. Could the tubes just be dead? I really want to avoid taking it to a tech since I don't know how much it would cost to repair it


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2016 3:14 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 6:11 pm
Posts: 15
You need to take it to a Tech if you have no idea about what is wrong, and without insulting you - if you cannot test if the tubes are good or bad, you should not be messing with this.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 4:37 am 
Offline
Mark III
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 4:14 am
Posts: 163
Location: North Florida
Get at least one good 12AX7 to swap in each position for testing.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 9:12 am 
Offline
Mark IV

Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 9:13 pm
Posts: 505
Also, try using the effects send instead of the main outs and see if it does the same thing. The main outs on mine have periodically done a weird thing where their volume fades to almost nothing. Not both of them at once either; they do it individually. Both of them have done it, and I've heard of this happening on Quad Preamps too. The effects send sounds the same and hasn't ever given me any trouble.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2016 11:46 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2016 10:04 pm
Posts: 3
I got a 12ax7 to test in each position. No change in output during testing.

Also tried using the effects loop send instead of the main outs. The output was actually lower using the effects loop.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 29, 2016 8:54 am 
Offline
Mark IV

Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 9:13 pm
Posts: 505
Unfortunately, that's all the easy stuff checked off the list. The next step is professional help, I'm afraid.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 29, 2016 12:24 pm 
Offline
Mark III
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 4:14 am
Posts: 163
Location: North Florida
Deoxit all the jacks and pots...

https://www.amazon.com/Hosa-D5S-6-DeoxI ... B00006LVEU


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2016 5:05 pm 
Offline
Bottle Rocket

Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2016 10:04 pm
Posts: 3
vick1000 wrote:


I will try this out.

I also noticed that the output from the recording outs were also low in volume. It was about as quiet as the effects send.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group