Studio Preamp FX level question

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

THC_4_ONE

Reaction score
First of all, hi there I'm new to the Boogie world but have been reading a lot of interesting info through this forum for a while that has been so good for me to get a good knowledge specially about this great Studio Preamp

I'd like to ask you how do you put you FX loop level when you connect the Studio Pre to a power amp using the FX send instead of main/recording outs.

I run my Studio Pre through an (old too) Fifty/Fifty power amp, but I do use some effect pedals between the fx send and the power amp, these stomp boxes are basically an ISP Decimator G-String and some other time based pedals like a Memory Toy f.ex

At the end of the chain I've got a Fender mini ABY box with the purpose of duplicating the signal that then goes directly to the power amp with 2 cables

So I wonder if there is any problem by running the FX level toggle set as LOW or LINE, which should I better use? Can i blow any pedal by running it in LINE level? Is it bad for the power amp to use one or other level from this toggle?

Any suggestion would be really apreciatted, once more thank you guys for putting a lot of great info into this board, it helped me a lot for sure

You can't "blow" a pedal using line level signal, but the effect may distort if the signal is too hot.

Also, if your FX level is set to LOW, it's not "bad" for the poweramp but the signal may be too weak (amp won't be as loud).

I would recommend using the LOW setting because of the pedals potentially distorting, but if you notice no distortion on LINE you can use that as well.

Just a disclaimer: I don't own a Studio preamp so I'm going off experience with similar FX loop set-ups

Hi Jackie, thanx for your reply, I've been busy these days so couldn't check the forum