my rack... how would you set it up...

Triaxis, Quad Preamp, Stereo Power series, Recto Preamp

Moderators: Guitarzan, Grandor, ned

Post Reply
toolshed
Mark I
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 4:23 pm

my rack... how would you set it up...

Post by toolshed » Sat Mar 03, 2012 8:16 pm

looking for the most versitile way to set it up.. How would you hook it up..

i have a mesa boogie studio preamp, a digitech 2120, and a marshall 9005.

would you use the preamps as preamps and just a/b them to the marshall
or...
would you run the guitar to the mesa input then loop of the the mesa to the input of the 2120 and then go out of the 2120 into the mesa in to the marshall...
or.....

how would you do it?

User avatar
Jackie
Mark IV
Posts: 812
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 5:49 am

Re: my rack... how would you set it up...

Post by Jackie » Sat Mar 03, 2012 8:34 pm

You could try using 4CM for the Digitech that way you can use it's FX in front/after the Studio Preamp, bypass the Studio and use the Digitech's preamps into the Marshall etc.

You just go

Guitar->2120 input
2120 send->Studio return
Studio send->2120 return
digitech output->Marshall in

That way by engaging the 2120's internal loop you include the Studio preamp in the chain, and you can place FX either in front or after the Studio. You can also use the 2120's preamps that way. The only thing you're limited to in this case is using the Studio in Mono, because you can only feed one channel back to the 2120.

BTW I tried this type of setup with my Marshall head+GT-6 and my mate uses his GT-8 hooked up like that all the time, it's crazy versatile... I have not yet tried it with a preamp/poweramp in stereo though. If the Digitech has two outputs it's no problem I guess.
GUITARS: heavily modded Epi Goth Explorer; Jackson KVMG Pro; Yamaha SG2000; Gibson SG '61 Reissue; Squier CV Tele
AMPS:Mesa/Boogie 2:90+TriAxis; Marshall JVM410H (modded); Marshall 1960A w/V30
FX:BOSS GT-6

toolshed
Mark I
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 4:23 pm

Re: my rack... how would you set it up...

Post by toolshed » Sat Mar 03, 2012 8:51 pm

Jackie wrote:You could try using 4CM for the Digitech that way you can use it's FX in front/after the Studio Preamp, bypass the Studio and use the Digitech's preamps into the Marshall etc.

You just go

Guitar->2120 input
2120 send->Studio return
Studio send->2120 return
digitech output->Marshall in

That way by engaging the 2120's internal loop you include the Studio preamp in the chain, and you can place FX either in front or after the Studio. You can also use the 2120's preamps that way. The only thing you're limited to in this case is using the Studio in Mono, because you can only feed one channel back to the 2120.

BTW I tried this type of setup with my Marshall head+GT-6 and my mate uses his GT-8 hooked up like that all the time, it's crazy versatile... I have not yet tried it with a preamp/poweramp in stereo though. If the Digitech has two outputs it's no problem I guess.
the 2120 does have stereo outs

User avatar
Jackie
Mark IV
Posts: 812
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 5:49 am

Re: my rack... how would you set it up...

Post by Jackie » Sun Mar 04, 2012 7:56 am

Yeah I scrolled through the manual

so just change last line to "both digitech outputs->both Marshall ins" :mrgreen:
GUITARS: heavily modded Epi Goth Explorer; Jackson KVMG Pro; Yamaha SG2000; Gibson SG '61 Reissue; Squier CV Tele
AMPS:Mesa/Boogie 2:90+TriAxis; Marshall JVM410H (modded); Marshall 1960A w/V30
FX:BOSS GT-6

User avatar
Triaxstasy
Mark III
Posts: 238
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 2:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: my rack... how would you set it up...

Post by Triaxstasy » Sun Mar 04, 2012 9:10 am

Maarten van Helden (http://www.tubefreak.com) has a nice fridge-rig which includes a 2101 and a Quad preamp.....
Here´s his signal line: http://tubefreak.com/signal.htm
...Maybe a good guess how to hook up your Studio/2120/Marshall rig

Post Reply