2 Ninety vs. 2 Fifty

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
New here.

Long time Mesa owner currently using a Mark III Blue Stripe and a Mark IV through 3 old skool 1/2 back 4x12's

I want to try something different and am building a small rack around an Axe-FX Ultra.

Probably answered a million times befiore here but, can you guys clue me in on the differences/Pros/Cons of the Mesa 290 and 250 power amps? I have no experience with rack gear or power amps.

I mainly play small venues and at home.

Any advice/tips on which would work best with the Ultra are appreciated.

I just bought a 50/50 and I'm using a BAD CAT X-TREME pedal as a pre into channel A>2X12 and it's extremely loud. I can't even imagine how loud a 2/90 would be.

The 2:90 will basically be two Mark IV power sections with Deep, and Modern voicings and a half power. People put too much amphasis on "loud" when thinking about Mesa power amps The 2:90 really won't be any louder than a 50/50 but you'll have much more headroom which is exactly what you want if you're using an Axe FX.

Thanks to both of you...this is exactly the type of feedback I was hoping for.

My initial idea was to go with the 2:90 and that's what I will do....Anyone got a 2:90 for sale?? :D

What sort of speakers are you going to be using with the Axe FX? This is going to have a huge impact on what you choose for an amp.

If you look at the Axe FX forums there seem to be two therories as the way to go:

A PA type speaker and as clean and uncolored a power amp (or a powered speaker) as you can find, OR

A guitar speaker cab and a guitar type amp (to add a little tube amp warmth)