Running a Triaxis direct to PA

Triaxis, Quad Preamp, Stereo Power series, Recto Preamp

Moderators: Grandor, ned, Guitarzan

User avatar
ryjan
Dual Recto
Posts: 2273
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 12:38 pm
Location: Blistered Earth

Running a Triaxis direct to PA

Post by ryjan » Wed Jun 02, 2010 11:24 am

I just started gigging out and discovered what a lazy bastard I am. :lol: Dragging a head, cab, cables, etc is a pain. Also my other guitarist has a modeler amp that runs straight to the board and I'm miking my cab so stage volume has become an issue. I'm thinking about getting a Triaxis again and running it all by itself straight to the board via the recording outs for live shows and running it the same way through 2 powered PA speakers for practice and jams. I know I can run my Mark IV's record out also but I still have to drag the cab along also (cant run without a speaker load). How do the recording outs on the tri sound through ss power? Or should I give up and get an Axe FX?
edit: GAS is also playing a small factor in this as well. :wink:
Mark V:25
Recto 2x12
ESP Explorer

User avatar
crane
Mark III
Posts: 483
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 4:22 am

Re: Running a Triaxis direct to PA

Post by crane » Wed Jun 02, 2010 11:29 am

You can easily build a dummy load in a small box for your MkIV so you don't have to drag the cab !
PRS McCarty Soapbar with BKP Pigs90, PRS custom 22 with BKP Rebel Yell
Mark V Head, 1x12" Mesa 1/2 closed (EVM-12L)
Triaxis 2.0 noFat - Quad preamp
Deep modded 20:20 - Bias modded 50/50 - SimulClass 295
Home made amps/speakers/pedals

User avatar
ryjan
Dual Recto
Posts: 2273
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 12:38 pm
Location: Blistered Earth

Re: Running a Triaxis direct to PA

Post by ryjan » Wed Jun 02, 2010 11:46 am

crane wrote:You can easily build a dummy load in a small box for your MkIV so you don't have to drag the cab !
Yeah I know. There are other factors as to why I'd rather be using the Tri instead of the MarkIV also. I have a power conditioner, stereo rack effects, and hopefully soon , a wireless unit in a rack already so the triaxis could just hop on for the ride. MIDI is cool. Stereo outputs. And like I said, I have GAS :lol: . I had a Triaxis/2:90 rig a couple years ago and loved the tone. I just never used the recording outs and never ran it into a pa so I have no idea how it behaves when used like this. In my head I have it set like this: Guitar>Tri>fx loop to Gmajor>L/R fx return>Rec out L/R to board for shows or powered speakers when at home.
Mark V:25
Recto 2x12
ESP Explorer

User avatar
crane
Mark III
Posts: 483
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 4:22 am

Re: Running a Triaxis direct to PA

Post by crane » Wed Jun 02, 2010 11:51 am

I've used my TA for recording, but serious ones were made through a cab. I can't remember the sound direct to the recorder through the rec outs. I can try and post some samples tomorrow if you want, but I don't know if my presets are made for this.
unfortunatly I don't have a descent PA to record it "live" (it's an old Shure 300 form the 70's :mrgreen: ). All I can say is some people like their TA running through the rec out even with a guitar PA.
Last edited by crane on Wed Jun 02, 2010 11:57 am, edited 2 times in total.
PRS McCarty Soapbar with BKP Pigs90, PRS custom 22 with BKP Rebel Yell
Mark V Head, 1x12" Mesa 1/2 closed (EVM-12L)
Triaxis 2.0 noFat - Quad preamp
Deep modded 20:20 - Bias modded 50/50 - SimulClass 295
Home made amps/speakers/pedals

User avatar
Old BF Shred
Mark IV
Posts: 872
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 11:26 am
Location: So Cal no more...now Ozark Mountains

Re: Running a Triaxis direct to PA

Post by Old BF Shred » Wed Jun 02, 2010 11:54 am

The previous owner of my Triaxis used to do what you're asking. It sounded great using the recording out.

Also you could just pull the power tubes in the Mk IV and run it that way with no danger to the amp. I have to assume the Mk IV does not have an FX return loop jack that disconnects the normal pre to power amp routing?
I am no Mk IV expert so I don't know, but if it does, that will may also work w/o pulling the tubes. Of course it depends on how critical the load is even with no drive to the output tubes. Some amps (i.e. my 50-50) handle this well, others may not.

Good luck! :D
Stiletto Ace head
Triaxis/50-50
4x12 and 1x12 cabs
Studio Cal 22+
Various Hamer, G&L, Jackson

"Old rockers never die; we just start to smell that way...or is it the amp?"

Image

User avatar
Old BF Shred
Mark IV
Posts: 872
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 11:26 am
Location: So Cal no more...now Ozark Mountains

Re: Running a Triaxis direct to PA

Post by Old BF Shred » Wed Jun 02, 2010 12:02 pm

ryjan wrote:
crane wrote:You can easily build a dummy load in a small box for your MkIV so you don't have to drag the cab !
Yeah I know. There are other factors as to why I'd rather be using the Tri instead of the MarkIV also. I have a power conditioner, stereo rack effects, and hopefully soon , a wireless unit in a rack already so the triaxis could just hop on for the ride. MIDI is cool. Stereo outputs. And like I said, I have GAS :lol: . I had a Triaxis/2:90 rig a couple years ago and loved the tone. I just never used the recording outs and never ran it into a pa so I have no idea how it behaves when used like this. In my head I have it set like this: Guitar>Tri>fx loop to Gmajor>L/R fx return>Rec out L/R to board for shows or powered speakers when at home.
Well if you need the MIDI thing going on...nix the MkIV. Ya know I have been toying with the idea of selling my Tri, but then I think, Nah! too hard to replace, especially with a Recto board and no Phat mod....
:wink:
Stiletto Ace head
Triaxis/50-50
4x12 and 1x12 cabs
Studio Cal 22+
Various Hamer, G&L, Jackson

"Old rockers never die; we just start to smell that way...or is it the amp?"

Image

User avatar
ryjan
Dual Recto
Posts: 2273
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 12:38 pm
Location: Blistered Earth

Re: Running a Triaxis direct to PA

Post by ryjan » Wed Jun 02, 2010 12:20 pm

Thanks for the replies guys. Hey Old BF, I can run the Mark IV safely similar to the way I described also. I just want to able to control everything with midi and have the stereo outs. Not to mention 128 presets. :twisted:
Mark V:25
Recto 2x12
ESP Explorer

ljbarbeau
Mark II
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 4:05 pm

Re: Running a Triaxis direct to PA

Post by ljbarbeau » Wed Jun 02, 2010 2:47 pm

This might be a dumb question... But if I get what ur saying since the TA doesn't have the power section it is safe to play with it no cab at all? Like direct to my computer or rec out to headphones? ( not that I'm planning to do this but good to know if I ever need to...)
Luigi
Mesa Boogie Triaxis & Simul-Class 2:90, Mesa Roadster Combo 2x12, Mesa Recto Cab 4x12,
X2 XDR95 Wireless, DCR-2SR Wah, 2x G-System, Furman M-8X, TS-808 Keeley Mod, 2x Ernie Ball 6166.
Main Guitars : Warmoth Custom VIP & Ibanez JEM7D

User avatar
ryjan
Dual Recto
Posts: 2273
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 12:38 pm
Location: Blistered Earth

Re: Running a Triaxis direct to PA

Post by ryjan » Wed Jun 02, 2010 3:27 pm

ljbarbeau wrote:This might be a dumb question... But if I get what ur saying since the TA doesn't have the power section it is safe to play with it no cab at all? Like direct to my computer or rec out to headphones? ( not that I'm planning to do this but good to know if I ever need to...)
Yes sir. No tranny to bake.
Mark V:25
Recto 2x12
ESP Explorer

ASG
Mark I
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 5:26 am

Re: Running a Triaxis direct to PA

Post by ASG » Thu Jun 03, 2010 7:35 am

Everyone that has an Axe raves about it but I think they are all seriously deluded... even Andrian Belew! They must get caught up in the effects but to my ear over sprectrum analysed EQ'd studio monitors all demos I have heard including Adrians really had sh1te tone.

A Triaxis DI'd from record out or into a good tube power amp sounds magic without effects. Then later ad a TC Electronic or Lexicon reverb and delay and a TC chorus and it will be monsterous!

User avatar
MesaGod666
Donating Member
Posts: 901
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 1:03 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Contact:

Re: Running a Triaxis direct to PA

Post by MesaGod666 » Fri Jun 04, 2010 8:48 pm

http://www.netmusicians.org/files/14-Di ... _ROUGH.mp3

That link is to a song that is pure Triaxis DI.

I always DI my TA into the board while doing live stuff just to give our sound engineer a "dry" signal to mix with the mic'd signal.

I love to DI my Triaxis...but I'm a Boogie whore.
Mesa Simul-Class 2:Ninety; JP2C, Mesa/Boogie OS Cabs
OFFICIAL REDSKY WEBSITE
REDSKY ON FACEBOOK

User avatar
ryjan
Dual Recto
Posts: 2273
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 12:38 pm
Location: Blistered Earth

Re: Running a Triaxis direct to PA

Post by ryjan » Fri Jun 04, 2010 10:52 pm

That sounded awsome man! Thanks.
Mark V:25
Recto 2x12
ESP Explorer

User avatar
MesaGod666
Donating Member
Posts: 901
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 1:03 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Contact:

Re: Running a Triaxis direct to PA

Post by MesaGod666 » Sat Jun 05, 2010 10:34 am

I'm pretty sure that Hetfield has his TA straight into the board as well for live purposes.
Mesa Simul-Class 2:Ninety; JP2C, Mesa/Boogie OS Cabs
OFFICIAL REDSKY WEBSITE
REDSKY ON FACEBOOK

Roadifier
Mark III
Posts: 346
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 7:19 am
Location: Tampa Fl

Re: Running a Triaxis direct to PA

Post by Roadifier » Sat Jun 05, 2010 5:19 pm

i went to a live concert of theirs a couple months back and james had his triaxis into a 2:90 and 2 4x12's for them
Image

eric335
Bottle Rocket
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 8:01 am

Re: Running a Triaxis direct to PA

Post by eric335 » Fri Jul 30, 2010 1:27 am

il give you my combine of setup for pa situation,,
i use triaxis with boss se 70 (like s. henderson)in the effect loop and redbox (huges & kettner) from the amp output not the record

Post Reply