Is the Triaxis for me?

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

iceman

Reaction score
I've been considering picking up a triaxis/2:90 (for a couple of years now...), the odds are I won't be able to test drive one before buying and I have a couple of questions. I had a Mark V for a couple of days but let it go because it was to "thin" sounding for me, not enough bottom end. Granted that was my first boogie, I could have just been dialing it in wrong. I went with a Roadster instead, and have been playing with it close to a year (and love it, although it took a bit to find the sweet spot). I did the test run of the Mark V with a ESP M-II, which is alder based. Lately I've been playing with a Les Paul Standard through the Roadster and it gets pretty dark sounding. Seems like the alder body is a good match with the "darker" Roadster. So I'm starting to think maybe the Mark V wasn't the issue, it was either a: my lack of experience dialing a boogie, and/or b: the Mark V would have sounded heavier with a mahogany based guitar.

SO the question is, should I just go back to the Mark V with a mahogany based guitar or pull a the trigger and the triaxis/2:90 and give that a whirl. I don't really need the 90 channels of the triaxis, and for a used price I'd get a new V. 90 channels vs 3 aside, do the amps cover pretty much the same ground or are they different animals tone wise. I have a DIY isolation cab so I can really crank the volume of any amp I have (at any time of the day) so the 10W mode vs 90W mode isn't a factor (I've read you need to open up the 2:90 to get it going).

iceman said:
Is the Triaxis for me?
If you play guitar, then the answer is yes.

The TriAxis itself isn't a terribly "bottom heavy" sound, but going through that 2:90, particularly with Deep Extend, you'll hear it.