Using 1 channel on 50/50

Triaxis, Quad Preamp, Stereo Power series, Recto Preamp

Moderators: Grandor, ned, Guitarzan

Post Reply
talltxguy
Donating Member
Posts: 641
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 9:48 am
Location: Central Texas

Using 1 channel on 50/50

Post by talltxguy » Tue Nov 04, 2008 9:05 pm

Hey ya all,

I'm gonna run my Studio Preamp into the 50/50 into a 1/12 Roadster cab. Was reading the 50/50 manual, and it said, "If you wish to use only one of its channels, it is necessary to: 1) Make sure a speaker (or load resistor) remains connected to a speaker jack on both channels, including the unused one."

I called the Mesa dudes, and they said to just keep the level at 0 although he didn't sound 100%. So is that it? Or do I need some special plug to put into the other speaker jack?

Thanks again!
Scott in TX

User avatar
crane
Mark III
Posts: 483
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 4:22 am

Post by crane » Wed Nov 05, 2008 2:05 am

If you read one line more in the manual it's said that that you can turn the volume to 0 if nothing is plugged on a channel.
I've use mine in that config for years without any problems. But there's no mention about the presence knob for this amp.
PRS McCarty Soapbar with BKP Pigs90, PRS custom 22 with BKP Rebel Yell
Mark V Head, 1x12" Mesa 1/2 closed (EVM-12L)
Triaxis 2.0 noFat - Quad preamp
Deep modded 20:20 - Bias modded 50/50 - SimulClass 295
Home made amps/speakers/pedals

talltxguy
Donating Member
Posts: 641
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 9:48 am
Location: Central Texas

Post by talltxguy » Wed Nov 05, 2008 7:08 pm

Thanks for the feedback, Crane.

marantz1300
Mark II
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 2:36 pm
Location: london england

50/50

Post by marantz1300 » Sun Nov 16, 2008 5:27 am

As long as the volume knob is on 0 all will be o.k. The presence knob wont matter if you leave it turned up.I've done this lots of times. I leave the presence set to make sure I dont accidentally use the channel with out the speaker.

Post Reply