A little bit mixed about the Fillmore 50

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bertone

Reaction score
Hello, I'm new to the Boogie forum but I'm a long time owner. The Fillmore 50 is my 4th Boogie starting with a Mark III (that I still wish I'd kept), a Nomad 45 4X10, & an F-30 as a backup amp. This amp has some great tones for sure and I'm certain that I will love it as much or more than the others but, honestly, it's not one of those amps that sound good on any setting or can very quickly be dialed in. Neither was the Nomad. (I owned the Nomad for a solid year before I was completely comfortable with my tone settings! After that, I loved it and kept it for 18 years.) Back to the Fillmore: I have never seen tone controls so sensitive. That's both good and bad. You can make the Fillmore sound downright obnoxious especially by turning the mids up too high. I usually approach an unfamiliar amp with everything at 12:00 then add and subtract from there. It's friendlier towards single coils it seems, or at least easier to dial in. But with my Les Paul Custom I'm having trouble getting it to completely clean up on channel 1 (that beast is hard to tame on any amp) and I'm just not finding the right crunch sound on Ch. 2. There is glorious gain to be had on Ch3 for sure! Any tweaking suggestions?