Proper IR Loading with Built-In CabClone!

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AaronR

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I have been reading this forum for a while and today I decided to create an account.
I want to share a cool recording trick that I figured out. It works for Mark 5:25, Mark 5:35, JP2c, TC50 and TC100.

I've been playing a Mark V 35 for over 2 years now and love the tones I get out of it. Whenever it came to recording however, I struggled. I tried using the FX send into my Helix and loading IRs there but the tone was shrill and weak because it missed the poweramp. I also tried to emulate a poweramp inside the Helix but the result was not great. While I like the CabClone for live applications, I did not like the tones enough for recording.

But as an engineer, where there's a problem, there's a solution!

I knew that the CabClone applied a passive filter to the signal so I went ahead and measured it. I then engineered IRs that apply the exact opposite EQ. This allows you to get rid of the cab simulation of the built-in CabClone and apply your own IRs to the complete amp signal, including poweramp characteristics!

You can download the IRs here https://www.dropbox.com/s/b6zkb0x2ed2ayez/CabCloneRecordingIRs_HX.zip?dl=0
I always use the Vintage voicing but for Mark 25 ownders I included a Closed Back version. The _trimmed versions are optimized to be used with a Line6 Helix.

Instructions:

1. Set your tone on the amp however you like it. You can connect a speaker for best results but using the dummy-load also works fine and is better for the neighbors :D

2. Set your CabClone to the Vintage (or Closed) voicing and connect the XLR to your audio interface

3. Record your guitar parts. You can use the CabClone signal for monitoring during recording