Which amp is for me?

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kevinnguyen760

Reaction score
Hi, I am an owner of a Single Rectifier 50 watt head. I am a newbie to gear so excuse my limited terminology. I like my recto but I would like to also get something else along that line. I love heads that are around 40-60 watts. I play pretty high gain. It's a cross over of punk/80's hardcore/ and some old school thrash crossover. We have a modern metal-ish sound with heavy punk influence but no need for anything extremely gainy like death metal. I love it when the amp has a powerful "roar". I saw a youtube video of the nomad 45 that sounded pretty good on the high gain channel. I could hear every note clearly and it was still distorted and it sounded like it cut through and thats what I'm looking for. I did some more searching and found many other Mesa's that sounded good (hard to judge over youtube) and then just got too overwhelmed with which one to buy next. Hope I can get some help here! I am looking to spend up to $800 at most. I don't play with any pedals, and am not looking for a rectifier series since my other guitar player has a dual. I have found Nomads, Mark III, Express, F-series, .50 Cal, etc. I am pretty overwhelmed and could use some help. Thank you!

Here are some that I was looking at:
https://reverb.com/item/3103733-mesa-boogie-1983-sob-son-of-the-original-mesa-boogie-head
https://reverb.com/item/3579424-mesa-boogie-mark-iii-simul-class-head-natural-wood-finish
there are many more links but I don't want to clutter you with them

I think you already have the best amp for what you are doing. Have you been boosting it with an overdrive? That gets you to the next level. OD808 with gain all the way down and level all the way up. It is hands-down the most common technique to get the tones you hear from rectos.