Dual Rec Fx Loop ?

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

metrx360

Reaction score
Hey guys,
First off let me just say that I am relatively new to the whole tube amp game. I have been playing solid state Marshalls as well as the AVT line for the past couple years and I really got sick of the Marshall tone, so I bought a Mesa because all my favorite artist's tones were using them and they are so versatile its sick. Let me say this amp is the ****, theres nothing like it. Once I got the tones right (which took me days haha) I can now say Im in love with this thing.

My question for anyone who feels like responding is this. I am used to running my effects straight into the front of the amp, but i wanted to take advantage of the Dual Rec's FX loop capabilities so I am now playing into the loop. I can't get the settings to not make the amp really lose volume and sound mudded up when the loop is on thouhg. Sometimes if it annoys me enough I kick on the solo channel as well to boost the volume but I still dont quite have the mix settings right i dont think. Basically my question is, is there any way that I can set up the Mix and Send knobs so that when I kick on the FX loop it just sounds as if I were plugged into the front and I just added the effect by kicking it on?

Hope someone understands what I'm asking, thanks in advance, and sorry for the stupid newbie question heh.

Great Choice of Amps!

The only way I use the Effects loop on my Dual recto is to set the effects send on the back of my head to maximum, 10.

Then I have my preamp settings around 6.5-7.5

I then adjust my Loop master to the desired volume.

I have found that it is essential to run the Effects send on the back at max or I lose Tone and Attack.