Mark V or Roadster for my needs

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

carvinx

Reaction score
I am putting money down on an amp tomorrow but am having a hard time deciding. I used to own a roadster put recently parted with it. I couldn't get any lead tones out of it that I could bond with. On the other hand for what it is , I really enjoy the amp. Would any pedals help me achieve an outstanding lead tone with the roadster, or should I go with the Mark V? What really draws me to the Mark
V is the options. I am mainly a bedroom guitarist so the option to go from a full sized amp, to a 10 watt bedroom level amp is a great feature. Also the wide array of great tones that can be achieved. Only downside is that it obviously can't achieve the low mids of a rectifier. Looking for some personal opinions here or some advice.

carvinx said:
I am putting money down on an amp tomorrow but am having a hard time deciding. I used to own a roadster put recently parted with it. I couldn't get any lead tones out of it that I could bond with. On the other hand for what it is , I really enjoy the amp. Would any pedals help me achieve an outstanding lead tone with the roadster, or should I go with the Mark V? What really draws me to the Mark
V is the options. I am mainly a bedroom guitarist so the option to go from a full sized amp, to a 10 watt bedroom level amp is a great feature. Also the wide array of great tones that can be achieved. Only downside is that it obviously can't achieve the low mids of a rectifier. Looking for some personal opinions here or some advice.

Might need a bit more information, as lead is only about 5% of a song I would worry more about your rhythm tone. So give us more details of style of music, where you using an OD to boost the roadster? I get great leads with my RK with a Tube Screamer.