Road King II Tube Replacement

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Choc666

Reaction score
Hi guys first time poster! Sorry im pretty sure this topic may have been done to death but i have a couple of extra questions too and im a total noob, this will be my first tube replacement ever.

I recently bought a second hand RKII (Australian 240V) serial number in the 2300s. one of the 6L6 valves was not glowing and was a little cloudy (i assume it is blown). The guy i bought it from said that he bought it around '08 and it had lightly been used for a few years and its been in storage for about 4 years. I figured it would definately be time to replace all 14 of the tubes, start fresh and know im getting the best sound of this beast.

The only issue is that theres quite a choice for the tubes and im not sure exactly what tubes i need for what i want. I have no experience with any of this :(

I would like my clean channels to be sparkly and clear as possible and especially take pedals well. The gain channels to be pretty dark and have a good amount of lows/mids. I have got recommendations from Tube Depot/Dougs Tubes/bobsezshop (Ebay) and they all recommend different things. does it really matter that much? here is what ive been recommended from everyone

Dougs Tubes
We recommend the RUBY 6L6GCMSTR's, RUBY EL34BSTR's, our 6 x 12AX7 tone kit and 2 x EH 5U4GB.

Tube Depot
In regards to the tube selection, I highly recommend going with Tung-Sol for all but the 5U4. For the rectifier I would recommend either Electro Harmonix or JJ.

Bobs EZ Shop (Ebay)
5U4GB-1 USA
12AX7-6 Electro-Harmonix gold pin
EL34/6CA7-2 Electro-Harmonix Big Bottle
6L6-4 Tungsol