MK IV/IIc+ sound from Road King

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mloiaco

Reaction score
Of course, comparing a RK with a Mark is like comparing apples and oranges, so I wouldn't expect to be able to duplicate one amp's sound with the other. However, for all of you RK users, I was wondering if you have been able to get *close* to that Metallica Mark IIc+ / Mark IV focused, creamy, high gain crunch with your RK? I've been trying for a while with only limited success using 2x6L6+2xEL34,Spongy,Ch 4 Modern as a basis.

i have no RK experience, but you might have better luck using the vintage mode on either channel 3 or 4. i hear that voice is supposed to be more mark-like, anyway.

i've had pretty good luck with channel 3 in modern... when i'm awake enough i'll post settings and see if that works for u

mammothcave:
Thanks a lot for your useful suggestion! Changing from modern mode to vintage mode in Ch. 4 made a huge difference. Instead of that "nu metal chainsaw" sound, I get an awesome high gain 80's crunch that's a lot closer to the Mark sound than Modern allows. Still not there, but a lot closer.

tavman:
That would be awesome if you could post your settings. I'm curious to compare. Here's the closest that I've gotten to the Mark sound...it's still pretty far off:

Ch 4
Vintage
2x6L6 & 2xEL34 (Triode)
Silicone Diode Rectification
Spongy
Presence: None - 9:30
Gain: 12:30-1:30
Bass: 11:30-1:00
Mids: None
Treble: 9:15-11:00
Loops: Master Bypass / All Off
Speakers: A+B (I have a Road King 4x12 cabinet)

Notes: As I increase the presence, I decrease the treble, and vice versa. Also, you can get even closer to the Mark sound by setting both the Bass and Treble to 2:30, but if you play with those settings at a high volume, the tone goes straight to hell and that annoying "bandsaw" sound appears.

Ch 3
Modern
4 X 6L6
Silicone Diode Rectification
Bold